Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-24-2017, 05:21 PM   #1
Jerold Ebke

Default Generator Rear Bushing Lube

I am rebuilding a 1930 standard coupe I have owned since 1977 when I was a college student, but was damaged in a garage fire 17 years ago and has been in storage.
Life now allows time to work on it.
I am working on the generator at present.
Does the rear bushing just absorb the oil from the oiler and allow it to reach the armature shaft?
I see no hole in the bushing corresponding to the oiler.
What role does the felt and spring play below the busing in the tube with the end cap? Again, I see no opening in the bushing associated with that area and how would oil get in or out of it?
I tried to remove front bearing which seems to turn adequately smooth. I could not get the front end casting with the bearing in it off the shaft and rather than break the casting, decided to leave well enough alone. Does the front oiler enter a hole of some sort for that bearing? Since I cannot see the bearing, I do not know if it is an original exposed type bearing or a sealed replacement which would not accept oil.
I am new to this forum and have enjoyed reading the posts.
Thanks, Jerry
Jerold Ebke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 06:00 PM   #2
jax55

Default Re: Generator Rear Bushing Lube

Welcome to the Barn Jerry.
The rear bushing is oilite and absorbs oil into the bushing and lubes the shaft.
The front bearing could be either open or sealed, but because of the fire I would replace both just for good measure. Cheap insurance and you will know what you have when you start to drive it. IMHO
The bearing is probably rusted to the shaft, so I would soak it with PB Blaster or such. You may have to work it off little by little as the rust begins to give way.
jax55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 09:59 PM   #3
Tom Wesenberg