Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-22-2021, 10:51 AM   #1
Daryl Stogryn

Default Multiple Oil Leaks after sitting?

This is my first time posting. My wife and I inherited a 29 Model A Roadster that has a rebuilt 28, 5 bearing cam engine that was rebuilt about 20years ago. The car was run regularly until about 5 years ago when my father in law took ill. We got the car in October '20. Spent the winter checking things over, replacing fluids etc. We have been driving this a couple of times per week all summer.

There has been a regular, but not appearing to be serious motor oil leak and nearby what seems to be a gear oil leak from the transmission. I have read through the threads (thanks for all of what you folks write - very helpful) but I am having trouble finding a way to easily track down if the oil leak from the motor is oil pan gasket related or rear oil seal. (I was told that when the engine was redone it was milled for a rear seal)

I have read different things about transmission leaks through the selector rod ends - and that it seems worse when driving hills. We live on top of a hill and it is up or down, 20-30degree grade, in all directions.

Recently drove about 50 miles at an average of 45mph and lost about 1/2 litre or more of motor oil. I am wondering if gaskets and seals have dried out from sitting for a few years and are getting worse as we drive it more...or what....

Would love some advice to get me started down the right sequence for investigating this.
Daryl Stogryn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 11:17 AM   #2
WHN

Default Re: Multiple Oil Leaks after sitting?

What weight motor oil are you using?
WHN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 01:58 PM   #3
Daryl Stogryn