Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2021, 08:12 PM   #1
JayJay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 231
Default Zenith carb question

I believe the answer is "no" but I have no basis for having that belief. So:

Is there any reason that a top half from a Zenith 1 carb cannot be mated to the bottom half of a Zenith 2? Both are later construction (single venturi, cast-in-place seat for the GAV).

I have two and it turns out that one top is unusable (excessive corrosion at the float valve, won't seal) and the other bottom is also (can't get the secondary well out, rusted in place).

Thanks.

JayJay
__________________
JayJay
San Francisco Bay Area

------------------------
1930 Closed Cab Pickup
1930 Murray Town Sedan

Last edited by JayJay; 02-07-2021 at 09:14 PM.
JayJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:53 PM   #2
jm29henry
Senior Member
 
jm29henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: Zenith carb question

Go for it!
jm29henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-07-2021, 09:48 PM   #3
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,341
Default Re: Zenith carb question

yes they can
Attached Images
File Type: jpg carbs.jpg (72.3 KB, 30 views)
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 11:28 PM   #4
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,739
Default Re: Zenith carb question

Dash one and dash two housings are often found mated up. I suspect that back in the day when these carburetors were turned in for a core at places like Pep Boys they were disassembled and tossed in a pile and overhauled and reassembled with little regard to the dash number.

Tom Endy
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 11:46 PM   #5
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,341
Default Re: Zenith carb question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayJay View Post
I believe the answer is "no" but I have no basis for having that belief. So:

Is there any reason that a top half from a Zenith 1 carb cannot be mated to the bottom half of a Zenith 2? Both are later construction (single venturi, cast-in-place seat for the GAV).

I have two and it turns out that one top is unusable (excessive corrosion at the float valve, won't seal) and the other bottom is also (can't get the secondary well out, rusted in place).

Thanks.

JayJay
Heat outer case where the secondary well is and squelch in cold water it will come right out. I use oxygen/acet. propane torch not hot enough.
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 10:47 AM   #6
JayJay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 231
Default Re: Zenith carb question

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary WA View Post
Heat outer case where the secondary well is and squelch in cold water it will come right out. I use oxygen/acet. propane torch not hot enough.
Thanks, Gary. I tried MAPP but unsuccessful, I'll get out the big boy.

And thanks to all for your counsel, the hybrid appears to mate up well. I'm pretty sure that the -2 was the original configuration but I have no background on the -1.

JayJay
__________________
JayJay
San Francisco Bay Area

------------------------
1930 Closed Cab Pickup
1930 Murray Town Sedan
JayJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 10:50 AM   #7
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,099
Default Re: Zenith carb question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary WA View Post
Heat outer case where the secondary well is and squelch in cold water it will come right out. I use oxygen/acet. propane torch not hot enough.

i do mine the same way and it has always worked well for me . A propane torch is a waste of time .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.