Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-20-2013, 12:21 PM   #1
1916modeltford

Default Stripped stud in block

I have found that the middle head stud (#8 on some torque layouts) directly behind the water outlet was badly stripped after the previous owner attempted a repair with an over size stud. It would not torque.

My question, would it be worthwhile to attempt to tap the stripped hole for a larger helicoil so I can reuse the over size stud? I beleive that I can tap the hole without drilling as the stripped hole is very close to the outside dimensions of the insert. I realize that this will reduce the area between the stud hole and the water passage.

A machinist friend suggested that if I did attempt this to coat the helicoil with a liberal amount of J D Weld before inserting the coil. Should I also coat the stud with J D Weld then screw it into the coil?

I am very new to A's and have not done any engine work for more years than I care to think of, as far back as the flat head V8's of the late 40's.
Old 06-20-2013, 01:11 PM   #2
fordfixer

Default Re: Stripped stud in block

NO. Don't put any JB Weld on the stud itself. This is a bonding material. You would never be able to remove the stud with out much difficulty if the need arises.
fordfixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
Russ/40