Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-20-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
'31 Patina

Default Clutch Pedal Arm Adjustment

I'm fairly new to my '31 coupe so I'll try my hardest to explain my question so people can understand what I'm asking.

When I start up the car and try to put it into 1st gear it grinds. When I come to a stop sign, and the car is at a complete stop, I try to put it into 1st gear and it grinds like crazy.

I went to adjust the trunnion nut arm on the bottom of the clutch pedal but now I cant get the clutch arm to line up with the arm that comes out of the transmission so I can put the clevis pin back in.

There is a little bit of play in the arm that comes out of the transmission, meaning I can turn the arm back and forth a little bit. Do I need to put a lot of pressure on this arm to get it so the clevis pin hole will line up with the clevis holes in the clutch arm pedal?

I apologize if this doesn't make sense...it's hard to explain it on a forum.

Thanks.
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:18 PM   #2
Sparky

Default Re: Clutch Pedal Arm Adjustment

Yes, you may need to put a bit of pressure on the arm to line up the holes. When I adjusted mine I used a small hydraulic jack under the arm.
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:46 PM   #3
700rpm

Since you say you're fairly new to this game, I suggest you get a copy of the Ford Service Bulletins and Les Andrews Mechanic's Handbook Vol. 1. These two books alone will answer many of your questions, now and in the future.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:55 PM   #4
'31 Patina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
Yes, you may need to put a bit of pressure on the arm to line up the holes. When I adjusted mine I used a small hydraulic jack under the arm.
Thanks I will give the hydraulic jack a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timothy Kelly View Post