Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-26-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
'31 Patina

Default Two Cylinders Not Firing

I have a '31 coupe with the original 4 banger motor in it. I went to start it yesterday and two of the cylinders are not firing. I pulled the plugs and found the two plugs closest to the firewall are black and dry. The two front ones are still shinny and wet with gas. So I assume these two cylinders are not firing as the car is running rough.

I'm new to the model A motor so what are some of the things I should be looking at to correct this problem? I plan on doing a compression test but before I do so I was wondering what type of compression readings are normal? Also could this problem be within the distributor? I've owned the car for a year and never rebuilt the distributor. I'm not sure what or if anything the previous owner did with the distributor.

Thanks for the help!
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 04:37 PM   #2
ford1

Default Re: Two Cylinders Not Firing

do a quick compression check on all cylinders if all are above #60 engine is probably ok ,clean or replace plugs and see if it starts sounds like the carb is running rich, but you wont know till its running, come back and tell us what you have found
ford1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 04:43 PM   #3
John Duden

check the distrubter cover, i had a wire inside of the wings short out and would not fire, but then again change the spark plugs, the spring in the insulator of the plug may be burned out
John
John Duden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 04:53 PM   #4
'31 Patina

Quote:
Originally Posted by ford1 View Post
do a quick compression check on all cylinders if all are above #60 engine is probably ok ,clean or replace plugs and see if it starts sounds like the carb is running rich, but you wont know till its running, come back and tell us what you have found