Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-06-2018, 04:15 AM   #1
bigfeller08

Smile 8ba rear mains

hi members , i have had a problem with re-building my 8ba v8 , motor , will try and make it as short as possible being a self taught back yarder , i had a go at FULLY rebuilding my motor , new ground crank , 80th bore ,new piston etc, ,WHEN I GOT TO PUTTING THE MOTOR TOGETHER , IT FELT HARD TO TURN OVER ,EVEN BE FORE I PUT THE PISTONS IN , THOUGHT IT STANGE , AS I HAD ALL NEW MAINS ETC, ANY WAY WENT A HEAD ,GOT IT RUNNING , ,FOR A COUPLE OF HOURS , THEN SUDDENLY IT STOP WAITED FOR AWHILE , RE STARTED IT , AND RUN OK , ,WAS NOT HAPPY SO I PULLED IT DOWN AGAIN , AND FOUND THAT THE REAR MAIN BEARING WAS STUUFED , TOOK IT TO THE MACHINE SHOP , AND he said that the main seal was to tight , and that it heated up and cooked the main , i have never heard of this , ,SO , HAD THE CRANK CHECKED AGAIN , AND HAVE TO ORDER NEW SET OF MAINS , ,can some one help me on this question , as i dont want to stuff up a new set of mains , , front and middle mains ere ok , just the back one , need help guys ,

cheers BIGFELLER 08,
bigfeller08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 05:08 AM   #2
flatheadmurre

Default Re: 8ba rear mains

Put it togetter without the rope seal in it...if it doesn´t turn over easily the block is either out of alignment....unbolt one maincap at the time and see if it spins freely with one loose.
Or the crank was ground to big for the bearings.
The rope seal is real tight when installed...the new teflon style is a bit better...don´t forget some lube on it when assembling...so far never had one that injured the crank/bearing...what can happen is they burn up and leaks when installed dry....oil should cool the bearing if clearance is ok...was it a rear main bearing with oversize flanges by chance ?