Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-21-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
Nick in Fayetteville

Default lube for trans and rearend

I imagine that this has been covered before, but I am new to the '40 Ford. What lube should I use in the trans and rear end. Also, what is the best weight oil to use in the '51 Ford flathead motor?
Nick in Fayetteville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 02:40 PM   #2
ford3

Default Re: lube for trans and rearend

140w in trans and rear end as per motors manual. use any major brand 20-50 detergent oil, now your going to get people saying use 600w oil in trans and rear end, but 600w does not have anti foaming agents, anti acid agents, anti moister agents and anti wear agents, that is an oil that was formulated 100 yrs ago and cannot compare to any modern trans and rear end oil
ford3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 03:27 PM   #3
CC33

I went through this last year. The general consensus was for the trans and rear, use 140W. I use Lubriplate 140W from Restoration Supply Co. in Escondido, CA. 800-306-7008. It runs $17 a quart, so don't spill any.
CC33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 03:34 PM   #4
Ken Arms

so 90w is too light? Ken
Ken Arms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 03:59 PM   #5
ford3

90w for trans if you live in real cold country, 140w may make trans slow and hard to shift untill the oil has warmed up
ford3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:26 PM   #6
rotorwrench