Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2020, 09:57 PM   #1
SteveR.
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 58
Default Re-setting oval speedometer

I have a '30 Tudor with an oval speedometer, can I easily re-set the odometer to 0 miles? I want to do this simply because the number on the odometer number is meaningless after 90 years....I was going to set it to zero to record miles on the new engine I just installed.

Unfortunately I know nothing of past owners, restorations, or almost anything else about the car. It has thick lacquer paint, crazed/cracked on the hood but otherwise looks pretty reasonable. I'm guessing it might be a 40 year old restoration. Point being the number on the odometer is useless to me. I'm working on making it a reliable driver, but keeping it's current "aged" look.
SteveR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 10:04 PM   #2
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 828
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

You have to disassemble the speedometer to do it. If you don't know your way around them, I would recommend contacting Mark at Mark's Speedometers in Polson, MT He will clean and lube it too. Mine stuck on 9999 and would go no further. He did a great job and the turn around was quick.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-28-2020, 02:25 AM   #3
john charlton
Senior Member
 
john charlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

Just a note which I guess you know already never reset the trip on the move or you will damage the speedo .

John in Suffolk County England .
john charlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 09:38 AM   #4
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 808
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showp...6&postcount=14

papanick advertises a lot on this site, many good reviews.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 11:53 AM   #5
1930 coupe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 223
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

I have heard several times on more than one forum (never reset the trip on the move) I opened up a speedometer to take a look and I cannot see anything that would cause damage or any other issues from setting the trip on the move. Where did this theory come from? Am I missing something?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg speedo gears.jpg (128.6 KB, 44 views)
1930 coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 01:10 PM   #6
Mark in MT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western MT
Posts: 217
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
To reset the odometer requires it to be taken out of the frame, pressed apart, the wheels rotated into position while keeping everything in time. Gently press back together without chipping any of the fragile paint. While you are at it, clean out the old grease and add fresh lube.

I don't know why Ford did not want you to reset the trip on the fly, I can see no reason other than taking the driver's eyes off the road.
__________________
Mark in MT

Always looking for another opportunity to be wrong.
Mark in MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 05:51 AM   #7
papanick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: gouverneur n,y,
Posts: 2,515
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

It would be best to have a shop rebuild or service it. Thing are very slow right now and I can get it back in the mail the next day. ALWAYS WERE TO HELP YOU OUT. papanick/
papanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 10:51 AM   #8
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,090
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

From the Model A instruction manual:

Resetting the Trip Odometer
To reset the trip odometer simply pull out the knob on the
speedometer. By turning the knob you can reset the figures at
any tenth of a mile desired, or back to zero. After resetting the
odometer be sure to push the knob back to its original position.

I doesn't specify as to whether the car is moving or not.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 11:04 AM   #9
McMimmcs
Senior Member
 
McMimmcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,452
Default Re: Re-setting oval speedometer

Quote:
Originally Posted by papanick View Post
It would be best to have a shop rebuild or service it. Thing are very slow right now and I can get it back in the mail the next day. ALWAYS WERE TO HELP YOU OUT. papanick/
What do you charge to do this job ?
McMimmcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.