Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-25-2020, 10:56 AM   #1
Black Fifty

Default What's Behind Your Flattie?

Hello All.

I purchased a fairly stock 1950 Ford Custom Deluxe with 239 and 3 speed with overdrive and 4.10 gear in September of 2018. In the future I plan to bore and stroke the engine to get a bit more grunt at the occasional stoplight. I have zero experience with these cars, so I have no idea what the trans will hold up to in terms of power. Previous to this car, all my toys were from the 60s and I knew what to use.

What do you all use behind your warmed-up Flatheads? Should I be cautious with the trans? Are there internal upgrades that add strength? The car is so original that I don't want to cut a hole in the floor for something like a T-5 (well maybe). And I don't want to go to an automatic.

I welcome any suggestions/comments/opinions from you folks. You guys are THE experts and I learn something about these cars from all of you every day!

Thank you.
Mike
Black Fifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 11:05 AM   #2
Seth Swoboda

Default Re: What's Behind Your Flattie?

You won't have any problem with the stock 3 speed transmission behind a warmed up street flathead. Your money will be better spent on a 3.54 gear ratio in the rear end and a 29/15 tooth transmission gear combination.

From past experience building a warmed up 8BA engine, you'll see some improvement in power but the net gain is negligible to the rest of the drive train. The "cool" factor is greater than the "throw you back in the seat" factor. For me it wasn't worth the extra expense, opinions vary.
Seth Swoboda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 11:39 AM   #3
tubman