Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2016, 10:17 AM   #21
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,999
Default Re: EAB cam with 8BA heads?

The original distributor doesn't work very well with a Cam change, and nust be run with the original distributor. Going to a SBC dist will solve most of your problems. Unfortunately, it doesn't look very stock. There are no other options.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 10:21 AM   #22
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,789
Default Re: EAB cam with 8BA heads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wmurphy@whmcontractin View Post
I don't really know what the advance is
If you have the stock distributor and carburetor there is a vacuum canister on the distributor that, when working correctly, advances the timing on the distributor as engine speed increases. You should see the timing increase if you hold your timing light on the pointer and rev the engine. You might have to put a reference mark a couple of inches from the timing dot on the crank pulley to see it advance. If it runs best at 4 degrees static timing the advance must be working.
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-30-2016, 10:24 AM   #23
Wmurphy@whmcontractin
Junior Member
 
Wmurphy@whmcontractin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LongIsland NY
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Wmurphy@whmcontractin
Default Re: EAB cam with 8BA heads?

Thanks John . Seems like something I should of read earlier
Wmurphy@whmcontractin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 10:57 AM   #24
Wmurphy@whmcontractin
Junior Member
 
Wmurphy@whmcontractin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: LongIsland NY
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Wmurphy@whmcontractin
Default Re: EAB cam with 8BA heads?

Thanks guys, I was thinking I wasn't let it breath correctly with the stock exhaust. I'll put some more time into the timing issue instead. I really don't want to change the distributor if I can help it. If I can figure out how to work this site a little better I'll put in some pics.
Thanks again
Wmurphy@whmcontractin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:39 PM   #25
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 8,112
Default Re: EAB cam with 8BA heads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wmurphy@whmcontractin View Post
Do you think I should relocate the vacuum source from the original port and install on a manifold source of vacuum?
Not with a stock distributor.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.