Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-05-2024, 10:00 PM   #1
Jyromefedx

Default Straightening up a couple of Model A's (Advice needed)

IMG_20230824_134752429_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230824_134721994_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230824_135131996_HDR.jpg

Hello and good day all.
This is my first post to these forums so please be gentle.

Before the snow fell I made a purchase of my dream car, in this case cars.
A Model A Sedan, I however did not quite realize what I was biting off with the fact that the Sedan versions have most of the main structure fastened with wood, and in my case, the remnant ghost of wood. I am looking to bring my car back to life as I have been amassing parts for it but I need to start with the structure.

I am a mechanic by trade but know very little on body work, especially structural. So I have come to the experts.

A few questions:

Is there any resources that would show me in detail the internal dimensions of the sedan when sitting properly?

Has anyone resources for a documented account of restoring the structure of a Sedan?

Is this indeed a 1930 Murray Sedan?

Thank you kindly.

Last edited by Jyromefedx; 03-05-2024 at 10:39 PM.
Jyromefedx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2024, 05:09 AM   #2
ronn

Default Re: Straightening up a couple of Model A's (Advice needed)

just a suggestion-sell them both off at a slight profit and start a little higher up the chain.

so much work here. better suited for a rodder.
ronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2024, 07:09 AM   #3
nkaminar

Hi Jyrome,

Welcome to the Barn and to the Model A hobby. What Ron was trying to say is that it takes a lot of time and money to restore one of these cars. The people who restore them do so because they love the work and are proud of the results. But it is a lot faster and cheaper to just buy one that has most of the work done.