Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-01-2017, 07:17 PM   #1
Mike the Grump

Default Inherrited restoration project

Trying to come up with a game plan on how to get this back on the road.

I've posted a link to some pictures below. If the it comes up as a list of files there is an icon at the upper right (a bunch of little squares) that will switch it to thumbnails.

The chassis work was done in the late 70's. Last time it was started was probably eight years ago. The clutch may be rusted to the flywheel.

Looking at the body panels I'm struggling with where to start. Not pictured, the rear sub-rails are rotted. Given the condition of the quarter panels and the panel below the rumble seat lid, I don't see a place to start and have any confidence that it will all fit together. I have no prior body work experience.

I've considered fixing the subframe and trying to locate a better panel for below the rumble seat lid. Then use that and the cowl as reference points to piece the rest of it together.

It seems like the bodywork would have been a lot easier when the frame was bare.

A quick look at the Mac's site and I come up with a minimum of 1,500 in patch panels, figure another 500-700 in tools. (mig welder, argon tank, clamps etc.) Pile on an unknown number of hours and I'm beginning to think that a new brookville body may make more sense.

The fenders, hood, top cowl panel and gas tank are in pretty good shape. Could reuse those to keep something of the original car.

Any thoughts? I'm not afraid of trying but don't want to start down a path of inevitable failure or commit the rest of my life to this.

https://bakerm-my.sharepoint.com/per...3a09%3a09.000Z
Mike the Grump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 07:51 PM   #2
JohnLaVoy

Default Re: Inherrited restoration project