Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-18-2022, 10:31 AM   #1
whizzernick

Default WOODGRAIN (real)

A little history. I have been doing (hand) woodgrain since 1966. most of my interest has been 1933-34 ford (as I started out in 1959 with a 33 roadster)

I always wanted to get as close as possible to original woodgrain . I have a large collection of original woodgrain samples. (the inside of 33 -34 glovebox doors ) (no fade from sunlight ) The original method ( done by ford ) & most others. Was a printing method . Plate of woodgrain pattern was inked up and a very soft roller transfered the image from plate to item to wood grain. To get the corect pattern (33 or34 ) you need the correct printing plate. Most original method people DO NOT thave the correct printing plates. I found one guy with the correct printing plates. Benny Esties ( in Florida ) I flew to Florida in 1970 and brought my 1933 vickey dash window frames my 33 dashboard and a lot of extra parts (glove box doors ash tray etc. ) I was thinking about a dealership (from him ) Price at that time was $50,000 .
I thought at the time (no $50,000 and would I ever do that much woodgrain )
All my woodgrain was finished by him and now my roadster and vickey have as correct as possible woodgrain.
My pictures are of both original and original method. I do have a large colections of almost all years and if you need a picture of original If I have it I will email to you .

I TRIED TO POST AND THIS IS WHAT I GOT

Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing.

If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error.
whizzernick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2022, 10:51 AM   #2
Doug 845

Default Re: WOODGRAIN (real)

I would like to see a pic of some original 33's. Isn't the '33 a little darker than the '34?