Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-01-2021, 03:53 PM   #1
32truck

Default Distributor issues

Sorry about this long winded post.
Can't get my flathead to run right. 8ba. the points in my Mallory ZC dual point distributor were pretty fried. After learning that the points were no longer available for this distributor, I Got some Napa CS756 replacements and I just can't get it to run right. I set the dwell at 26 like it says on the distributor. It appears to me like there is a lot of slop in the shaft as I was trying to set the point gap and the lobes look kinda worn to me. It idles but seems to speed up then slow down, then frequently stalls but every time I attempt to give it some gas, it runs really rough and misses no matter what I do with the timing. I'm really thinking I need a new distributor. I'm brand new to the flathead world and just got this 32 Ford pickup a few weeks ago. Any suggestions would be awesome. Thanks.

Andy

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
32truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 03:57 PM   #2
32truck

Default Re: Distributor issues

Here are a few more pics.

Old 12-01-2021, 04:20 PM   #3
enginepieces

The lobes on your distributor is worn you will have hard time setting and keeping them set. May be time for a good distributor shop to look at it or replace it. The roll [Speed up and slow down]of the engine could be the blower most blower engine's have a roll that is the cool thing about a blower motor. Nice looking engine.
enginepieces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 04:57 PM   #4
Bored&Stroked