Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2017, 05:27 PM   #1
1963turnerjohn
Senior Member
 
1963turnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ann Arbor / Canton Michigan
Posts: 303
Default 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Hi fellas
Last night my 41 Fords original instrument dimmer/rayostat finally gave up !

Since I do not dim the instrument lights, is it safe to just connect both wires, effectively bypassing the rayostat all together ?

Or instead of connecting the 2 wires directly / should each wire be connected to an inline fuse for safety??

Or find another rayostat and wire per factory ??

Thxs
John
1963turnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 05:37 PM   #2
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Yes, Just hook the two wires together, it won't hurt anything. Can't imagine why Ford thought you would need to dim the instrument panel lights anyway.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-03-2017, 05:38 PM   #3
4dFord/SC
Senior Member
 
4dFord/SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

I bypassed the rheostat in my '40 years ago to make the gauges more visible at night.
4dFord/SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 05:54 PM   #4
1963turnerjohn
Senior Member
 
1963turnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ann Arbor / Canton Michigan
Posts: 303
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

So no fuse is necessary ??
1963turnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 05:59 PM   #5
grumppyoldman
Senior Member
 
grumppyoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 719
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Like your fender skirts, where do you park it a night. My switch still works. LOL Al
grumppyoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 08:02 PM   #6
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1963turnerjohn View Post
So no fuse is necessary ??
No.Didnt have one before.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:22 AM   #7
Mac VP
Senior Member
 
Mac VP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,189
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

I believe the entire lighting circuit is protected by the circuit breaker located under the dash, which would include the instrument bulbs. There would be a fuse for a clock if equipped and probably one for a heater blower motor if equipped.
__________________
VANPELT SALES LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Office: 513-724-9486
www.vanpeltsales.com
www.classictransmission.com
Mac VP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:40 AM   #8
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,885
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Like Mac stated, all the lighting on the earlier vehicles is protected by the fuse on the fuse panel and later by a circuit breaker. The 41 uses two circuit breakers for the lighting and a fuse for the clock.

Last edited by JSeery; 10-04-2017 at 05:49 AM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 07:38 AM   #9
1963turnerjohn
Senior Member
 
1963turnerjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ann Arbor / Canton Michigan
Posts: 303
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Thank you fellas for advise!
1963turnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 08:56 AM   #10
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

I just connected directly on my '41. No problem with being too bright at night.

Just wish there was some way to get more light on the gauges during the day. With my eyes adapted to daylight, the deeply shaded gauges can be hard to read.
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 11:07 AM   #11
supereal
Senior Member
 
supereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,499
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

The "circuit breaker" under the dash is for the headlights. It buzzes if the headlight circuit has a ground to allow the lights to function enough to get home. Given that the old Ford wiring is usually falling apart as the cloth covered rubber insulation ages, it is a very good idea to provide better protection. Using the circuit diagram, identify the various branches for the lights. I used a small panel on the firewall to mount modern pushbutton breakers. Do not fuse the charging circuit, or the generator can be damage if the load is lost.
supereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 12:31 PM   #12
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,885
Default Re: 41 Ford instrument rayostat bypass OK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by supereal View Post
The "circuit breaker" under the dash is for the headlights.
There are two circuit breakers under the dash, one is more or less dedicated to the headlights and the other one to the remainder of the lighting. One is 15 amp and the other 30 amp I believe. From here it depends on how original you want to keep the vehicle. The original Ford setup works, but there is always room for improvement if one is so incline.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.