Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2014, 12:26 PM   #1
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default LEDs

How many have had to add an extra bulb or resistor to your brand spanking new LED turn signals ?
I'm thinking everyone.
6v
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 01:16 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: LEDs

Shouldn't have to add anything if the right electronic flasher is used.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-11-2014, 01:41 PM   #3
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wesenberg View Post
Shouldn't have to add anything if the right electronic flasher is used.



I haven't found the right flasher. Been told there is no such critter. Not in 6v anyway. I certainly would rather be able to just stick in the right flasher.

I haven't started this yet, but, would rather not have to do the math to figure what to use. It probably wouldn't work on the first try.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 04:23 PM   #4
nickair
Senior Member
 
nickair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 132
Default Re: LEDs

Are you using LEDs front and rear?
__________________


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
L.D.

I have 40 horses in the garage.
Only feed them when I want to take them out.

31 Model A Tudor 55B

Nick
nickair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 04:26 PM   #5
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickair View Post
Are you using LEDs front and rear?



I posted earlier that I was recently rear ended. I'm going to put them on the rear. I think I'll leave the fronts alone, the parking and cowl lights are the front signals.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 04:40 PM   #6
Stew
Junior Member
 
Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: LEDs

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Here is a flasher that will work. I use it in my 31 CCPU 6v positive ground, Led turn signals. It is not load dependant. Not thermal.
(Tridon) Ll535 6v Turn Signal Flasher-3term
Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 04:53 PM   #7
Mike
Senior Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ASTON, PA.
Posts: 721
Default Re: LEDs

Change out your cowl light bulbs and install new 10 watt bulbs ! that worked for me. I installed 8 turn signal kits from Brattons and that is what works.

Mike
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:41 PM   #8
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

Hmm, OK, thanks for all the info.




Tridon website shows no 6v flashers

Last edited by Patrick L.; 08-11-2014 at 06:32 PM.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 06:38 PM   #9
Ron in Quincy
Senior Member
 
Ron in Quincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Quincy, CA.
Posts: 1,708
Default Re: LEDs

I use Logo Lite turn signals, they are a system independent from the existing wiring harness. They work on 6 or 12 volt with a 1 amp fuse. The control unit mounts on the dash using a very strong magnet, no holes to drill, push button to turn on and off, and a buzzer when on. The kit includes 4 LED turn signal lights, wiring, and nothing else to buy.

I believe they also have a LED stop light that mounts in the rear window of closed cars. More visible at a higher height.

Ron

Ron
Ron in Quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 07:42 PM   #10
jrelliott
Senior Member
 
jrelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pine, AZ
Posts: 705
Default Re: LEDs

Victor EF32 Flasher should work without your resistors. I am looking at designing my own using a small relay and 555 timer that will flash a 235 ma load for my turn signals. Changed the bulbs in my turn signals from 12V to 6V and they are not bright enough to suit me, so going to use the bulb element from a 9 LED flashlight and see if I can make it work. The current draw is not enough for the thermal 6V flasher to work so decided to design my own. Project is on the back burner for now, but will get to it eventually after finishing some wood working projects and fly fishing.
jrelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 10:54 PM   #11
nickair
Senior Member
 
nickair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 132
Default Re: LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron in Quincy View Post
I use Logo Lite turn signals, they are a system independent from the existing wiring harness. They work on 6 or 12 volt with a 1 amp fuse. The control unit mounts on the dash using a very strong magnet, no holes to drill, push button to turn on and off, and a buzzer when on. The kit includes 4 LED turn signal lights, wiring, and nothing else to buy.

I believe they also have a LED stop light that mounts in the rear window of closed cars. More visible at a higher height.

Ron

Ron

Logo Lite sounds like the way to go with out problems.
__________________


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
L.D.

I have 40 horses in the garage.
Only feed them when I want to take them out.

31 Model A Tudor 55B

Nick
nickair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 11:45 PM   #12
H. L. Chauvin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,179
Default Re: LEDs

Hi Patrick,

I am please with LOGO Lite turn signals also.

While driving at night I found the LOGO Lite buttons a little difficult to "feel" for in the dark so I bought a 12V Wal-Mart trailer sidelight with a spade type bulb to install upside down & hidden under my dash, & control it with a hidden push/pull toggle switch.

I removed the red plastic sidelight lens, installed a 6V spade bulb from Bratton's, & painted the bulb red with fingernail polish to maintain night vision -- LOGO buttons are now easy to see & distinguish L from R from dusk to dawn.
H. L. Chauvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 05:49 AM   #13
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

All the website info I can find show these units to require 11 volts or higher.
I'll have not been able to install these lights yet, just trying to get some info so I can have everything ready.
I'll call the companies later when they open.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:26 AM   #14
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: LEDs

I think EF 32 is the flasher I have and it works on 6 volts even though it's a 12 volt flasher. I'll have to find a picture to be sure, because I posted the information years ago.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:45 AM   #15
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wesenberg View Post
I think EF 32 is the flasher I have and it works on 6 volts even though it's a 12 volt flasher. I'll have to find a picture to be sure, because I posted the information years ago.




I remember posts from some time ago, but don't remember the specifics.
The 32 series flasher is a 2 pin and if I remember correctly I think I want/need a 3 pin.
If 12 v units will fire on 6 volts, then thats good info. I wasn't sure if they would.
All the info on the company websites seem to infer that any/most of the units have a pretty wide range of resistance.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:15 AM   #16
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: LEDs

Here's the picture I posted of the EF 32. 6 volts as I recall is the bottom limit and the running Model A should be close to 7 volts, but as I recall this flasher worked with an LED connected to it. You might see if they also make a 3 prong flasher.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Electronic Flasher.jpg (66.7 KB, 35 views)
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:58 AM   #17
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,266
Default Re: LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wesenberg View Post
Here's the picture I posted of the EF 32. 6 volts as I recall is the bottom limit and the running Model A should be close to 7 volts, but as I recall this flasher worked with an LED connected to it. You might see if they also make a 3 prong flasher.




Nice pic. thanks.
CEC is the website I've been looking at. The closest 3 pin appears to be 33 series. I haven't called them yet.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 11:05 AM   #18
Rich Bowes
Member
 
Rich Bowes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cotuit MA
Posts: 31
Default Re: LEDs

Patrick L,

I installed LED directional lights that I bought from Snyders because they were advertised as coming equipped with resistors so that they would work with a thermal flasher. I wanted to use them with a steering column mounted stalk switch because a friend told me the Logo Light dash-mounted switch could be difficult to use while driving. When I installed the set-up, the lights would not work until I installed a bulb parallel to the turn signal circuit. I told Snyders about the problem and they said they would research and fix the problem. I really like the LED turn signals. They are really bright even in bright sunlight. Coupled with the LED tail lights I installed, no one has a problem seeing me, day or night.
Rich Bowes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 11:10 AM   #19
Bruce Adams
Senior Member
 
Bruce Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northport, NY
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: LEDs

I am quite pleased with how my directionals work, using the LED pack in the taillites, all red, with separate running and brake sections, a THIRD BRAKELIGHT, a buzzer on the flasher from Gene Bunce, and the HIGHER INTENSITY cowl light bulbs on my six volt, alternator, system.

Last edited by Bruce Adams; 08-12-2014 at 06:15 PM. Reason: x
Bruce Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 05:32 PM   #20
Cockshutt Kid
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 81
Default Re: LEDs

I have a 6 volt electronic flasher that works fantastic. It is a Dominion Auto, Saf-T-Ray, Electronic Flasher, 6 volts, HD-63, 74-3003, Made in Canada. I am not able to find any more of them, so I assume that The company is gone and replaced by something in China. If any of the parts suppliers could start having them manufactured again they would be perfect for any pre 55 vehicle.
Cockshutt Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.