Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-10-2016, 10:40 PM   #1
Dutie

Default Could this be condenser ?

Had some running issues today after quite a few years motoring. She lost power after a stop for a few seconds.. after take off she started to stumble, a backfire and would not start. Got a tow, got her home, let it cool and still no start. Checked for spark and looked weak with thin white/orange spark so I replaced the coil along with the condenser from Brattons and she fired right up. After a few runs 2/3 miles ( did not want to go to far) and temps not exceeding 160 she run like a top. So today decided to take a longer ride to bring up to full running temp 180/190 and she started to lose power under load and some hills. My spark lever sweet spot is all the way down (fully advanced). Should I have a concern running too lean and could this new condenser have gone bad so soon. I am new to the A but am learning quick thanks to the help from this forum so any help is surely appreciated and sorry for the long story. Dutie
Dutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 12:04 AM   #2
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Could this be condenser ?

Tend to doubt it as I think all the new condensers that are sold by model A vendors are the burnout proof ones but yea could be. Could also be a coil going bad, heats up and starts to quit.

Running up a hill you should change the spark lever setting.

"When the engine is under a heavy load as in climbing steep hills,
driving through heavy sand, etc., the spark lever should be
retarded sufficiently to prevent a spark knock. "
Old 10-11-2016, 12:08 AM   #3
700rpm