Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-09-2020, 02:26 PM   #1
Magoo2

Default Does this Babbitt look ok?

I’m rebuilding one of the spare engines I have. The pictures show the three main bearings. I’ve never done this before and would appreciate any opinions as to the condition of these bearings. There were no shims installed on the mains. The crank looks good,no scoring. I’m trying to do this as inexpensively as possible as it’s a spare engine but I don’t want to waste time and money if I’m going to have to get new Babbitt and have it line bored. Thanks .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 9E85D79F-36A2-476E-952A-9BC440362F73.jpg (57.0 KB, 285 views)
File Type: jpg 059DB60A-8AB2-4C7B-A3EF-2A624529B1A5.jpg (53.0 KB, 267 views)
File Type: jpg 7C2F1C08-A465-4C71-966F-A7281AAFAC2D.jpg (61.5 KB, 269 views)
Magoo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 02:31 PM   #2
jm29henry

Default Re: Does this Babbitt look ok?

It doesn’t look bad but I think you should plastic gauge it and and you will know what you have ? This is only my opinion I hope the experts will let us know , best of luck to you
jm29henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 02:35 PM   #3
Magoo2

I am going to plastigauge .i accidentally attached a connecting rod pic. Should have been the rear main. For some reason I can’t attach a photo of it
Old 12-09-2020, 03:22 PM   #4
Synchro909

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoo2 View Post
I am going to plastigauge .i accidentally attached a connecting rod pic. Should have been the rear main. For some reason I can’t attach a photo of it
If the rear main is in similar condition to those, I'd run them. I don't like doing it but if those bearings need tightening, you could carefully remove some metal from the cap using wet and dry paper on a flat surface and moving the cap in a figure 8 pattern.
Old 12-09-2020, 06:12 PM   #5
jack wingard

Quote: