Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-22-2023, 07:27 PM   #1
oldspert

Default crankshaft counter weights

I would like to know if anyone has installed the weld on crankshaft counter weights and what results you had. I am a professional welder and welding them to a stock crank is not a problem. Re-balance is definitely going to happen. TIA
Ed
oldspert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2023, 08:21 PM   #2
Dodge

Default Re: crankshaft counter weights

Go for it, it definetly helps smooth things out.
Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2023, 09:20 PM   #3
Pete

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldspert View Post
I would like to know if anyone has installed the weld on crankshaft counter weights and what results you had. I am a professional welder and welding them to a stock crank is not a problem. Re-balance is definitely going to happen. TIA
Ed
If you made the weights so they could accommodate several slugs of Mallory, it would be even better.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2023, 11:30 PM   #4
oldspert

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
If you made the weights so they could accommodate several slugs of Mallory, it would be even better.
I would buy pre-made weights. Probably from Bert's.
Old 12-23-2023, 07:50 AM   #5
nkaminar

The engine I am rebuilding has the welded on counterweights. It ran smoothly. It had problems with the insert bearings and scored cylinders due to problems with the piston pins. The crankshaft was balanced and that must be done after you weld on the counterweights. If you want to be exact, use the bob weights when balancing, see https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333750
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2023, 09:58 AM   #6
oldspert

Quote: