Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-17-2013, 05:44 AM   #1
Geo. H

Default Crossing into Canada

I've sold my '30 A to a man in Canada. He's coming for the car Saturday. The car's engine has been replaced, and the number on the engine does not match the number on the title. Will this cause a problem at the border? Would a bill of sale listing the frame number and the engine number be helpful? Thanks for your help.
Geo. H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:05 AM   #2
donh

Default Re: Crossing into Canada

I am not an expert, but from my experience the more documentation you can give him,the better. Bill of sale, cleaning the frame serial number for easy viewing, document the change of engine, my help him get through customs. It is not as easy as it used to be, but not impossible.
Hopefully, he has done his homework and asked the Canadian officials which documents he needs.
Good Luck!
Don
donh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:12 AM   #3
ronn

Geo, this could be a problem. All depends on who he is dealing with. When the #'s don't match,
red flag goes up. Brother had the same problem when selling an old vw convertible 2 years ago. They would not let it cross.
good luck and let us know how it works out.
ronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:55 AM   #4
QGolden

Geo,