Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 11:21 AM   #1
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Wire looms

Does any one have a source for 8mm wire looms? All I have seen are 7mm.
Thanks, Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
Vergil
Senior Member
 
Vergil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 361
Default Re: Wire looms

Haven't seen any 8mm looms yet.

Vergil
__________________
Bigger fonts to aid in reading
Vergil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-17-2012, 01:23 PM   #3
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Re: Wire looms

Thanks Vergil, I'll keep looking.
Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 01:44 PM   #4
JM 35 Sedan
Senior Member
 
JM 35 Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Near Rising Sun, Maryland
Posts: 10,343
Default Re: Wire looms

Check with Flathead Jack on his website. I found that many times he has things that the other FH parts suppliers do not carry. However, he does seem to charge somewhat of a premium for his parts, but hey, if he carries things you can't find elsewhere that you really want/need, I would buy from him.
__________________
John

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than one with all the facts". Albert Einstein
JM 35 Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:16 PM   #5
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Re: Wire looms

Thanks John, I have an old catalog somewhere.
Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:47 PM   #6
Richard in Florida
Senior Member
 
Richard in Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 696
Default Re: Wire looms

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 37don View Post
Does any one have a source for 8mm wire looms? All I have seen are 7mm.
Thanks, Don
I couldn't find any, either, so I made my own. I can send you all the measurements and stuff if you'd like.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Looms.jpg (492.0 KB, 94 views)
Richard in Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:56 PM   #7
Vergil
Senior Member
 
Vergil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 361
Default Re: Wire looms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard in Florida View Post
I couldn't find any, either, so I made my own. I can send you all the measurements and stuff if you'd like.

Great looking engine Richard.

Vergil
__________________
Bigger fonts to aid in reading
Vergil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Re: Wire looms

That would be great if you don't mind Richard. It appears that you have them under rather than over which I prefer. Your engine is beautiful by the way.
Thanks, Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:28 PM   #9
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 4,178
Default Re: Wire looms

Wire looms look cool but they will cut the spark plug current somewhat due to capacitive leakage.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 09:05 PM   #10
Richard in Florida
Senior Member
 
Richard in Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 696
Default Re: Wire looms

Quote:
Originally Posted by 37don View Post
That would be great if you don't mind Richard. It appears that you have them under rather than over which I prefer. Your engine is beautiful by the way.
Thanks, Don
Give me an e-mail address, either here or in a PM.

Thanks for the nice words on the engine. An enormous amount of planning and execution went into it.
Richard in Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:09 AM   #11
flatmotor40
Senior Member
 
flatmotor40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 516
Default Re: Wire looms

I used a set I made up like Richard and made them out of stainless tubing
flatmotor40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:49 AM   #12
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Re: Wire looms

Hi Richard, sent you a pm.
Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:23 PM   #13
choiceph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: Wire looms

Don , i made a set of wire loom like Richard. I used aluminum tubing and buffedit on a buffing wheel. it came out looking like chrome. I got the tubing from McMaster-Carr.com and the aluminum seperators from performance distributors .com
Don't know if it will help , just passing it along
steve
choiceph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 07:37 AM   #14
37don
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Kingstown, R.I.
Posts: 250
Default Re: Wire looms

Thanks Choiceph, I got a material list and good diagrams from Richard in Florida and will try to make my own as you did.
Regards, Don
37don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.