Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-12-2018, 11:12 PM   #1
twc

Default 50 flatty idles well revs okay, but will not drive down the road.

I have a rebuilt 50 flatty with a 97 holley/ford 3 spd tranny. all new and rebuilt, will idle well and sounds good except for a bit of a stutter when you hit the throttle. I get it on the road and it cant handle the load and coughs and stutters and dies. it will always start back up but not quickly. dont know if it is timing or carburation. i have an electric fuel pump from napa, and an in line regulator on full flow (5). any ideas why it will not get going down the road?
twc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:17 PM   #2
leon bee

Default Re: 50 flatty idles well revs okay, but will not drive down the road.

I'm still a Flathead rookie, but I've already learned firsthand that the power valve in the typical carb kit can mess you up. And I've also learned not to trust NAPA's cheap electric pumps.
leon bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:29 PM   #3
GB SISSON

Sounds like fuel delivery. The electric pump will not make up for a clogged line/dirty tank etc. It doesn't take a big stream of fuel to idle well. My .02
Owner/Operator of 'Jailbar Ranch' on the side of Mt. Pickett. Current stable consists of 1946 1/2 ton pickup turned woodie wagon with FH V8, 1947 Tonner Pickup (red) mostly stock with exception of a cummins 6at turbo diesel, 1946 Tonner Pickup (green) with 226 cu in 6 cyl flathead, 1979 Toyota landcruiser wagon, completely encased in 1947 Ford Jailbar sheet metal. Ok, cornbinder rear fenders..... 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:51 PM   #4
flatheadmurre

Start by using the choke a little, will tell you if it´s starved on fuel.
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 04:08 AM   #5
tubman