Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 04:50 PM   #1
marcshall
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: duncan BC canada
Posts: 63
Default T5 transmission on model A

hello all , i would like to put a T5 5 speed transmission on a model A motor . dose anyone have what i need , or plans of how one can make the parts needed . or were one can buy what is needed . thanks have a good day
marcshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
steve s
Senior Member
 
steve s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Check the ad section of any Model A magazine for the last several years. Someone sells an adapter kit. The reviews I've seen are supportive EXCEPT for the components that adapt the mechanical brakes. Most folks seem to feel that the conversion is only feasible if you ALSO convert to hydraulic brakes.

Steve
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-10-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,590
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Steve beat me to it!

Also, look at the #2 Sticky at the top of the page:

TRANSMISSIONS
4. No known website: Auto Restorations (Borg-Warner 5-Speed) (800) 955-3139 (Indiana)
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:30 PM   #4
frank mcdaniels
Senior Member
 
frank mcdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: moorhead minnesota
Posts: 151
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

I have one in my roadster and I love it. I got the kit from a company called auto restorations in Muncie, Indiana. Phone number is 1-800-955-3139 . The kit comes with a brake cross shaft so you can use mechanical brakes. I would say the big draw back is that you have to notch the cross member in the frame.My model a is pretty far from a correct restoration anyway so I didn't mind this to much. The really wonderful thing besides fifth gear is the ability to down shift at any speed. This really saves on the brakes on mine.At fifty miles an hour the little four banger is almost ideling. I love the really low first gear also for just putting around . It's never jerky like my original tranny was.Anyway I'm glad I did this to my A and would recommend it ,or I should say I'm not disappointed I did it. Good luck, Frank
frank mcdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:47 PM   #5
brokenspoke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Anderson, Texas
Posts: 192
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

I did mine and kept the torque tube rear end.....I used a s 10 4x4 transmission and a adapter on the back side to connect the torque tube....much stronger IMO
brokenspoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:04 PM   #6
fordcragar
Senior Member
 
fordcragar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 407
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
If you look around on this forum and the HAMB, there is a lot of information on T5's in Model A's. You can use a AA bellhousing and a spacer plate, that will get the trans bolted to the engine.

You might check out Crazydaddyo's albums:

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/album.php?albumid=1040

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/a...p?albumid=1338
fordcragar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:17 PM   #7
Duffy1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mo. City , Texas
Posts: 725
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Suggest you do a search on over drive transmissions and look at the pros and cons of all the options . ( t-5 ,f-150, mitchell ,borgwarner )
Duffy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #8
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 3,888
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcshall View Post
hello all , i would like to put a T5 5 speed transmission on a model A motor . dose anyone have what i need , or plans of how one can make the parts needed . or were one can buy what is needed . thanks have a good day
There are a lot of ways to go on this.
If you have the facilities, all it takes is a piece of aluminum 2 inches thick and 10 inches square (approx) and a piece of 1/4" thick aluminum big enough to fit on the front of a SBC bell housing.
There is no complicated layout. You need a milling machine and a sawzall or band saw.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4 banger bell housing lft.jpg (55.0 KB, 573 views)
File Type: jpg 4 banger bell housing rt.jpg (59.6 KB, 521 views)
File Type: jpg 4 banger starter.jpg (52.9 KB, 505 views)
File Type: jpg B engine to trans adaptor.jpg (36.2 KB, 620 views)
Pete is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:01 PM   #9
fordcragar
Senior Member
 
fordcragar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 407
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
There are a lot of ways to go on this.
If you have the facilities, all it takes is a piece of aluminum 2 inches thick and 10 inches square (approx) and a piece of 1/4" thick aluminum big enough to fit on the front of a SBC bell housing.
There is no complicated layout. You need a milling machine and a sawzall or band saw.
Pete,

What flywheel are you running with the above conversion?
fordcragar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:04 PM   #10
chiliman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 200
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Pete any pictures of your pedal set up
chiliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:11 PM   #11
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 3,888
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordcragar View Post
Pete,

What flywheel are you running with the above conversion?
I used a Chev 11 lb aluminum one. Chev clutch, throwout arm and bearing.
Very easy to plug one hole in the flywheel and re-drill it for Ford crank.
Pete is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:14 PM   #12
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 3,888
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliman View Post
Pete any pictures of your pedal set up
No but they are Wilwood stock swing pedals.
I did do one car awhile back and retained the stock Ford pedals but used a hydraulic slave cyl. on the clutch.
Pete is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:40 PM   #13
afuncar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coquitlam b.c. canada
Posts: 129
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

look at the laine family web site he did the conversion and posted a very informative article with pictures and tips.
afuncar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:59 PM   #14
model a mike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 14
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

T5InstallationInstructions.pdf


I have the info from the auto restoration kit T5 conversion...Im not sure if this will help you out or not.
model a mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 12:12 AM   #15
masterwelder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Hi brokenspoke,
Where did you get the adapter for the torque tube? I think this is a great idea! Thanks!
masterwelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 11:25 AM   #16
insomniacshotrods
Senior Member
 
insomniacshotrods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Carthage, Missouri
Posts: 266
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

This is a good article on it. http://lainefamily.com/ModelAFiles/ModelAT5.htm
__________________
Enjoy life , it has an expiration date.
insomniacshotrods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:30 PM   #17
QGolden
Senior Member
 
QGolden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

This search will give you lots of good reading.

https://fordbarn.com/forum/search.php?searchid=3450321
__________________
It's not what people think they know that will hurt them, it is what they think they know that aint so! -Mark Twain.

It is the very things that we think we know, that keep us from learning what we should know.- Unknown
QGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:38 PM   #18
Hitchhiker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 385
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Is anyone using the above open drive transmission kit worried about the removal of the torque tube? Or is that addressed in the kit?
__________________
Matt in Seattle
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 06:09 PM   #19
QGolden
Senior Member
 
QGolden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

I do not know if the kit addresses it or not, but you need to beef up the rear radius rods. The torque Tube provides stability, and removing it requires something else to handle the torque. However if you use a T5 out of an S10 FWD then you can remove the transfer case and use the the flat surface on the tranny to keep your Enclosed driveline.
__________________
It's not what people think they know that will hurt them, it is what they think they know that aint so! -Mark Twain.

It is the very things that we think we know, that keep us from learning what we should know.- Unknown
QGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 06:42 PM   #20
denis4x4
Senior Member
 
denis4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Durango CO
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: T5 transmission on model A

Believe it or not, I side with the purists on the subject of transmissions. I have an A with the T5 and one with a '39 transmission fitted with a Zephyr gear set. Also had an A with a stock transmission and a Borg-Warner o'drive. All things being equal and getting the best bang for the buck, I'd do the next A with a Mitchell o'drive and sycro transmission.

Hopefully Auto Restoration has cleaned up their act when it comes to installation instructions. Based on my experiences, I considered their kit as high quality, ill-fitting components.
denis4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.