Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2020, 11:39 AM   #1
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

I swapped out the upper water outlet with a part that lets me install a thermostat closer to the engine, and I need to re-torque the head on my car. The socket that I have is too fat to fit squarely on those two head nuts. It looks like Ill have clearance issues on the head nuts near the distributor as well.

What are my options?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 11:42 AM   #2
Glenn C.
Senior Member
 
Glenn C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Didsbury Alberta
Posts: 838
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

A special torque wrench adapter is available from the suppiers
Glenn C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-09-2020, 11:48 AM   #3
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn C. View Post
A special torque wrench adapter is available from the suppiers

I see this one for distributors (https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/P...earchByKeyword), but I dont know if that is thin enough to help me with the water outlet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 11:50 AM   #4
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Will something like this work with a torque wrench? https://smile.amazon.com/TEKTON-2580...9042979&sr=8-4

Or, does that foul up the torque wrench reading?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 11:57 AM   #5
super flat
Senior Member
 
super flat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: west bend wi
Posts: 303
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

A thin wall socket or either grind or turn one down. Then only use it on those two bolts.
__________________
I am usually relatively happy------Gary
super flat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 11:58 AM   #6
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
There is a special wrench by Snap-on (if you can find one, they are out of production) or use the "Gyp Part" you get from the vendors.

http://www.fordgarage.com/pages/snaponheadwrench.htm

You don't say what year your car is but I find on the '30-31 a thin walled 12pt ⅜" drive socket will fit the water neck. It is tighter on the '28-29. You may have to pull the distributor...
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU

Last edited by Y-Blockhead; 05-09-2020 at 12:10 PM.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 11:59 AM   #7
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

yes it will foul up the torque. and they can round out the hex nuts. on the out let, if you have a old 11/16" socket, just grind it down.
jw hash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:00 PM   #8
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by shew01 View Post
Will something like this work with a torque wrench? https://smile.amazon.com/TEKTON-2580...9042979&sr=8-4

Or, does that foul up the torque wrench reading?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Those will change the torque reading as they change the length, unless you can use it at 90.
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:02 PM   #9
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Blockhead View Post
There is a special wrench by Snap-on (if you can find one) or use the cheapy one you get from the vendors.

http://www.fordgarage.com/pages/snaponheadwrench.htm

You don't say what year your car is but I find on the '30-31 a thin walled 12pt ⅜" drive socket will fit the water neck. It is tighter on the '28-29. You may have to pull the distributor...

The car is a 1931. I didnt know there was a difference for the older year engines.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:05 PM   #10
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Blockhead View Post
Those will change the torque reading as they change the length, unless you can use it at 90.

Can you elaborate? I dont think I understand the 90 degree part.

By the way, this is the first time Ive torqued a Model A head. So, Im a bit green on the technique.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:16 PM   #11
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

If you're torqueing the head nuts with a torque wrench, get the accessable ones to 55#'s, then use a box wrench and tighten to the same "feel". It's not rocket science and 1 or 2 lbs diff isn't going to hurt. JMO
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:17 PM   #12
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

[QUOTE=shew01;1885478]The car is a 1931. I didn’t know there was a difference for the older year engines.

The outlet is a different shape, shorter on the '28-29.

[QUOTE=shew01;1885479]Can you elaborate? I don’t think I understand the 90 degree part.

By the way, this is the first time I’ve torqued a Model A head. So, I’m a bit green on the technique.

What I meant by 90, have the opening on the adapter 90 to the torque wrench, not straight out. Still not ideal tho. Best to use the proper wrench.

I see the Snap-on wrench on e-Pay occasionally. But of course you want it NOW!!
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 12:29 PM   #13
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,290
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

The most used term for the wrench is a "Crows Foot Wrench".



If you purchase one, the best have the drive opening and the wrench opening that goes on the nut in perfect vertical alignment. Some are not aligned, are offset, and you have to use them properly to obtain proper torques.


Here is a previous string/discussion with lots of info.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...ght=crows+foot
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 01:18 PM   #14
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Whew! I found a skinnier socket.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 01:23 PM   #15
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by 30 Closed Cab PU View Post
The most used term for the wrench is a "Crows Foot Wrench".
Yes, "Crows Foot" I don't use them so I could not remember the name. The opening of the "crows foot" should be 90 to the torque wrench. If inline, it lengthens the torque wrench, throwing off the torque reading, ~ >10%.
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU

Last edited by Y-Blockhead; 05-09-2020 at 02:00 PM.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 01:26 PM   #16
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 3,279
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

As many have mentioned, grind a 6 point socket to fit. The crows foot tool is a lousy and troublesome tool, not for torqued fasteners. Get a decent quality socket and grind the full circumference to clear as needed.

The one next to the distributor can be easily dealt with. The vendors make a "U" shaped wrench to reach under the distributor so it can be torqued. It has a box end on the bottom, and a 1/2" ratchet square for the torque wrench on top. It allows accurate torqueing as the box end is immediately under the torque wrench so there is no erroneous torque error. Worth having.
Russ/40 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 01:43 PM   #17
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,585
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

I have a supply of the SnapOn wrenches. Most of the guys in our club have these. They work great.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 02:38 PM   #18
Richard in Anaheim CA
Senior Member
 
Richard in Anaheim CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Anaheim California
Posts: 435
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

I am always amazed to find "many" Model A guys that don't even torque those two long studs at proper torque. They are afraid of breaking the casting.

I believe they should be torqued the same as the others. I sand the mounting surface flat, use the proper copper/asbestos gasket or make a gasket out of a magazine cover. I have one ground down socket.

The distributor, Loosen the lock screw/nut, lift the distributor and torque. It's time to put a little grease or anti seize on the base of distributor so it doesn't rust anyway.

Richard
Anaheim CA
Richard in Anaheim CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 03:49 PM   #19
AL in NY
Senior Member
 
AL in NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Upstate New York
Posts: 921
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

shew01, you don't need retorque the entire head if you just loosened the two nuts for the water outlet.
__________________
AL in NY
AL in NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 05:01 PM   #20
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 820
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

I replaced the armored ignition cable too. So, I have at least three lose head nuts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.