Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2016, 09:50 PM   #1
iverson
Senior Member
 
iverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: freeport il
Posts: 316
Default Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

I usually pull off the ground cable when the car sits but i don't always remember, any ideas where to put a batt disconnect switch?
iverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 10:17 PM   #2
Barber31
Senior Member
 
Barber31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 683
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

There's a kit sold by the vendors that mounts the switch in the engine compartment by the starter I believe. I had mine mounted in between the driver/pass seats. It was perfectly placed and out of sight but now that I have new floor boards I'm debating on cutting holes thru them.
Barber31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-06-2016, 10:18 PM   #3
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,259
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Can you help us out by cluing us in on what year and model car your asking about?

I mounted mine on the floor in front of the drivers seat in my '30 Town Sedan.
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1 worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU

Last edited by Y-Blockhead; 11-07-2016 at 05:54 PM.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 10:18 PM   #4
SeaSlugs
Senior Member
 
SeaSlugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central, IL
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

somewhere you can easily reach it from the drivers seat if need be.
__________________
1929 Model AA - Need long splash aprons!
SeaSlugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 11:18 PM   #5
iverson
Senior Member
 
iverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: freeport il
Posts: 316
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Our car is a unrestored 28 touring it has the original wiring that has some insulation that is not the best
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (90.5 KB, 64 views)
iverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 11:45 PM   #6
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barber31 View Post
There's a kit sold by the vendors that mounts the switch in the engine compartment by the starter I believe.

__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 11:57 PM   #7
Russ B
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millbrae, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

On my Model A's, I put the disconnect switch on the seat risers, center or left side, in easy reach.
Russ B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 12:05 AM   #8
Glenn C.
Senior Member
 
Glenn C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Didsbury Alberta
Posts: 838
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

It becomes a real pain in the neck with the above, to have it installed on the starter, with having to open and close the hood each time you use the switch. Ok! some will say you should check the oil anyway. I haven't yet done it myself, but I have seen others where the switch is installed in the front seat riser below the drivers legs, and another neat installation where the switch was installed in the front cross member. It does require some ingenuity to fashion a on-off leaver that lays flat under the front carpet, again under the drivers feet. This way the switch is hidden from all.
Also in my opinion, having the switch in a location where the driver has quick access in an emergency, might prevent a possible serious situation developing, such as a electrical fire, or even a stuck starter switch.
Glenn C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:23 AM   #9
captndan
Senior Member
 
captndan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 710
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V. Florida View Post
^^^^^. The best place.
captndan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:39 AM   #10
SeaSlugs
Senior Member
 
SeaSlugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central, IL
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iverson View Post
Our car is a unrestored 28 touring it has the original wiring that has some insulation that is not the best
Well unless you want a unrestored original house/garage/car fire I would think very hard about replacing the wiring or putting the disconnect between your legs. Wiring is part of maintaining a car just like brakes and steering. You wouldn't think twice about replacing late 60's aluminum house wiring in your house because its original would you?
__________________
1929 Model AA - Need long splash aprons!
SeaSlugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:50 AM   #11
Bob Bidonde
Senior Member
 
Bob Bidonde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

The driver's side engine mount is an ideal location. The mount has an existing hole, so no drilling is necessary. Also, the mount is in the path of the battery cable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Battery Disconnect Switch (1).jpg (55.5 KB, 93 views)
File Type: jpg Battery Disconnect Switch (2).jpg (58.7 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN0667.jpg (68.0 KB, 98 views)
__________________
Bob Bidonde
Bob Bidonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:51 AM   #12
Ray Young
Junior Member
 
Ray Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

This is where mine sits with the kit pictured above.
IMG_2998.jpg
Ray Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:52 AM   #13
mshmodela
Senior Member
 
mshmodela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,751
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V. Florida View Post
This switch I installed, good quality, the mounting bracket on the starter is simply....
__________________
-Mike

Late 31' Ford Model A Tudor, Miss Daisy

I don't work on cars --I'm learning about my Model A.

Cleveland, Ohio
mshmodela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 09:10 AM   #14
Big Iron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MO
Posts: 6
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

I have a AA truck. It has a mat on the floor. I mounted the switch to the cross member with a bracket I made. I took off the switch handle and made a sleeve with two set screws in it. I put a six point socket in one end and put the other end on the switch. I drilled a hole in the floor for the sleeve to cum through. It is flush with the top of the floor board. You just lift up the mat and use an allen wrench to turn the switch on or off. Know one knows it is there except the people I just told on here. Paint the switch black and you don't even know it is there.
Big Iron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 09:39 AM   #15
V4F
Senior Member
 
V4F's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ca.
Posts: 2,511
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

now every one knows
__________________
V4f
V4F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 02:58 PM   #16
Fred K-OR
Senior Member
 
Fred K-OR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stayton, Oregon
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by captndan View Post
^^^^^. The best place.
Reasons it is good is that it is fairly easy to install, when you lift the hood you can check things in the engine compartment and they work well. I have both of my rigs with them installed.
__________________
Fred Kroon
1929 Std Coupe
1929 Huckster
Fred K-OR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 07:06 PM   #17
sphanna
Senior Member
 
sphanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Polk City, Iowa
Posts: 520
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

I had my switch mounted near the starter as some have suggested above. I changed it so it was accessible from the driver seat. Reason: Went to a KC regional a few years back and when attempting to start car for trip home, my starter stuck. Surprised me and had to think a bit. By the time I figured out I had better get the switch shut off by opening hood after exiting the car with my old creeky legs, the starter had run so long that I thought it would burn up. It didn't but when I got home, I mounted it so I could reach it from drivers position.
__________________
Steve Hanna, Polk City, IA
sphanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 07:35 PM   #18
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sphanna View Post
I had my switch mounted near the starter as some have suggested above. I changed it so it was accessible from the driver seat. Reason: Went to a KC regional a few years back and when attempting to start car for trip home, my starter stuck. Surprised me and had to think a bit. By the time I figured out I had better get the switch shut off by opening hood after exiting the car with my old creeky legs, the starter had run so long that I thought it would burn up. It didn't but when I got home, I mounted it so I could reach it from drivers position.
That's where I place all the ones i install.... A little more work but as mentioned easy to get to and easy on the eyes
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 07:55 PM   #19
iverson
Senior Member
 
iverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: freeport il
Posts: 316
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

some very good ideas! I like the motor mount idea because of the existing hole but I can see it would take time to get out of car and open hood. I think being able to reach switch from drivers seat makes sense. another posability i have a few ww2 aircraft master switches that are 24 volt but might work on 6volt I think I will look in to that, I have decided that a switch is a must! I will post what ever I do no matter what! thank you guys!
iverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 09:40 PM   #20
29er
Senior Member
 
29er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 462
Default Re: Any ideas where to put a batt disconnect?

Here's some old threads to confuse you:

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showth...ery+disconnect

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showth...ery+disconnect

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showth...ery+disconnect
29er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.