Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2020, 03:25 PM   #41
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,590
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2M View Post
The supplier's version is junk, read what it says about them on that fordgarage link above.

I'd love to find an original Snap-on or Bonney obstruction offset wrench for sale. What sort of money do they go for?
I usually have the SnapOn wrench, $50 postage paid.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 03:33 PM   #42
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 826
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by LEM View Post
Here’s a good YouTube explanation using crows foot attached to a torque wrench.

https://youtu.be/tv_KHH55qdQ
That is an excellent video.
shew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-21-2020, 04:08 AM   #43
old31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,300
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2M View Post
Great, thank you. Searched "11/16 obstruction wrench" on ebay and found this 12 point head for a Pontiac for under $20, hope it will do the job.


Yes, those are perfect. It will also get the nut easily under the distributor.
old31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 10:33 AM   #44
Ed in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 709
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

You should drain the coolant out of the engine if you are going to mess with the cylinder head nuts. Three weeks ago I broke a perfectly nice outlet casting torqueing the head down. I purchased new one from Snyders and packaged with the new outlet casting is an instruction sheet to place a paper match at the end of each ear of the casting. I also used RTV and no gasket. By placing a match at the end of the casting, you are putting the casting in compression when you are tightening the nuts. Cast iron can take a lot of abuse if the metal is in compression but breaks easily if but it is put in tension or bending. When I broke my casting, I found that the gasket was wet and got squishy and moved out from under the nut so that I was in effect bending the casting at the ends. Bad news!

You mentioned that you are new to torqueing the head. There is a tightening sequence in the maintenance manual and I have been told to torque the head with the engine cold and with no lubricant on the threads of the studs. I know I was traumatized after breaking the outlet casting but I took my time tightening the nuts. It is up to you but I do not recommend the clamp on the ignition cable. Why mess around with a cylinder head nut when all you want to do is some simple maintenance on the distributer? If you don't like the look of the stud too high out the nut, I would suggest that you get from Snyders the head nut washers (T-3003-W). I also used these washers under the nuts on the outlet casting. I tightened in steps, 15, 25, 35 and 55 ft-lbs. Some people on Ford Barn suggested that you only torque the outlet casting to 50 ft-lbs. After the first torqueing, I let the engine sit over night to bond the gasket to the block. The next day I filled the radiator with water and ran the car for about ten minutes and let it sit over night. I retorqued the next day and found that it had relaxed about 5-8 ft-lbs. I then ran the car for about twenty minutes and repeated my retorquing procedure the next day. As I said, I took my time and repeated the torqueing procedure about 10 times until I was positive that there was no change in the torque values. I now have about 200 miles on the car and everything seems normal. This is one job I just hate. I am so afraid I am going to break a stud or pull the stud out of the block. Read up on how to do this job and good luck with your project.
Ed in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 08:19 AM   #45
JD-OHIO
Junior Member
 
JD-OHIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 18
Default Re: Need to re-torque head, but socket is too fat

I just got one of those from Carl. Great fellow to deal with. Whole process took less than a week. Thanks Carl.
JD-OHIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.