Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2020, 05:49 PM   #1
Oldgearz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 48
Default Does Your A Start Right UP?

I'm new to a 30 model A coupe. Have enjoyed putting in new points, plugs and timing, and rebuilding carb....just to learn how. I have rebuilt 5 Ford 8n tractors (done everything) and these old critters (1947 - 1951) are 4 cylinder, 6 volt, updraft carb) and most fire and keep running (with choke manipulation) on the first crank. My Model A NEVER keeps running on the first crank. Have tried every combo of retard/advance, gas, GAV and choke combo. Car almost always keeps running on second crank with no choke. Is it possible to get these things to fire right up and keep running on the first crank?
Oldgearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 05:58 PM   #2
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,085
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Fuel drain out of the carb? Fuel shutoff OK? Carb clean? rings free? Put a little Seafoam in the engine to soak the rings lose. Carb bolts tight to the intake manifold? These engines like to start. Happy holidays.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-11-2020, 05:58 PM   #3
700rpm
Senior Member
 
700rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

There are about 9 or 10 steps to starting a Model A cold. If you will describe what you are doing, maybe we can advise where to make an adjustment.
__________________
Ray Horton, Portland, OR


As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 06:00 PM   #4
daveymc29
Senior Member
 
daveymc29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 1,413
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

The short answer is yes. They can be made quite reliable in starting with the first attempt amd will continue to run. I believe that there is probably some issue with your gas delivery from what you describe, or you are trying to start it without advancing the gas lever a few notches, or idle speed is too slow. You don't want it to start and the race the motor but a faster idle may solve your problem. I would try that first, from what you say.
daveymc29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 06:34 PM   #5
Oldgearz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 48
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Full retard; about 3-4 clicks on gas lever, GAV at 1/2, full choke till it fires. I have great vacuum reading (19) which seems to preclude manifold leak, and seems the throttle set at 3 clicks would offset any influence of how the idle is set; have great gas flow with spotlessly clean gas (no crude) to carburetor. I put a little MMO in gas.
Oldgearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 06:44 PM   #6
WHN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Connecticut Shoreline
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Our 29 most always starts with the second try. GAV at 3/4, gas 3 clicks, choke fully out.

First time fires, then dies. Hit the starter again, engine fires right up and stays running.

I don’t see it as a big thing.

Enjoy.
WHN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 06:47 PM   #7
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,563
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

I assume you are pulling the spark lever down as soon as it fires.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 07:09 PM   #8
Oldgearz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 48
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

That's exactly what mine does. Its just bugs me a little....wanting everything to be perfect!
Oldgearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 07:10 PM   #9
Oldgearz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 48
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Quick as I can.
Oldgearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:08 PM   #10
Dennisfly
Member
 
Dennisfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 31
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Each car is different and I only have experience with my own, but during a cold start, if I keep the choke out for more than one revolution it is too rich and will die. Starts immediately otherwise and never needs choke if warm.
__________________
1929 Town Sedan (Briggs) 155B
Mitchell Overdrive
Dennisfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:37 PM   #11
Chuck Dempsey
Senior Member
 
Chuck Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 520
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

No advice, but welcome to the Barn!
Chuck Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:40 PM   #12
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,580
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacksonlll View Post
I assume you are pulling the spark lever down as soon as it fires.
This should never be necessary except when it is being driven. If this is necessary your timing is too retarded.

Last edited by J Franklin; 12-11-2020 at 09:10 PM.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:45 PM   #13
Curtis in MA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Leicester, MA
Posts: 236
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

My "clicks" are all worn off so I move the gas to about 2:30 position.
Choke for about one revolution.
Curtis in MA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 09:11 PM   #14
norcalal
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 60
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Every model a is different but to adjust to a faster idle upon startup, I look at accelerator and pull down the throttle arm till it just moves a bit. That keeps the guesswork out of how worn or misadjusted the carburetor linkage may be.
norcalal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 10:39 PM   #15
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 801
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Generally, mine stays running on the furst start, but with colder weather, if I remember, I will crank it with the key off and choking it for a couple seconds. Turn the key on and continue to choke and it fires right up, the pull down on the advance. Works nearly all the time. Opening the GAV may or may not help during starts because it doesn't kick in until revs are at a fast idle or higher. In warmer summer weather, no issues at all.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 10:46 PM   #16
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,580
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

I Only give it an errrr-errr with the choke fully out then keep it half choked, if cold, till it gets going well.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 11:50 PM   #17
700rpm
Senior Member
 
700rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

This is a fuel delivery problem. Do you immediately engage the foot throttle or hand throttle when it first fires and as you bring the spark rod down? The Choking will not give you enough fuel to begin or continue fully running.
__________________
Ray Horton, Portland, OR


As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2020, 07:16 AM   #18
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 299
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Most likely the GAV is not open enough. Try it one turn or more.
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2020, 08:10 AM   #19
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,061
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

I agree with opening the GAV about a half turn more if its its chilly out. Choke for a couple of revs, once started it might need a quick flick of the choke.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2020, 12:36 PM   #20
johnbuckley
Senior Member
 
johnbuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: Does Your A Start Right UP?

Here's my method...
From Cold.
No hurry, we want the petrol vapours to get into the combustion chambers so take your time.
1. Turn on petrol tap.
2. Open choke 1-2 full turns.
3. Ensure battery master switch is ON
4. Ensure advance/retard lever is up ( ie retarded)
5. Switch on ignition.
6. Put handthrottle lever down
7. Pull choke rod up fully for max choke.
8. Press starter and turn engine over 3 times so cylinders receives a charge.
9. Release/push in choke rod as soon as it fires, leave carb choked with the 1 turns, push handthrottle up to idle.
10. Adjust choke to running position – to 1 tur, and reduce this as engine warms

Once you get used to it you can miss out step 6 and simply start by holding full choke and at the same time sweeping the handthrottle downwards and releasing the choke as soon as it fires.

From Warm.
Ensure petrol and ignition are on
Press starter whilst at the same time opening sweeping down the hand throttle a quarter.
.
johnbuckley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.