Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-26-2019, 10:37 PM   #1
daveymc29

Default Circuit breakers

I'm no electrician so this has me stumped. I have the, looks like a brown square bakelight, circuit breaker with the silver rivet on one end and copper on the other holding the round pieces, that fit into the fuse holder, onto the bakeliight. I hadn't noticed the difference in the rivets until they were pointed out on this site with the precaution that there is a forward and a backward way to install them. Sure enough I tried and if I mount it one way I can detect a spark as it settles into the fuse holder. If I install it the other way around I don't see the spark. I installed one so I don't see the spark and will check it tomorrow to see if the battery has lost charge. I had no idea these things were directional. Are the fuses also? I have had dead batteries with both fuses and circuit breakers, but much more so with fuses. How do it know, is there a thermos in there? Must be to know the difference from hot and cold. (We had that discussion in a firehouse determining that the smartest invention of man was the thermos, it knew to keep hot, hot, and cold, cold.) Serious stuff we used to discuss around the dinner table. Any comments will be welcome. The circuit breakers I use are 30 Amp, 12 volt, placed into the starter located fuse holders on a 12V, Neg grd car and also on a 6V, Pos. Grd car.

Last edited by daveymc29; 03-26-2019 at 10:52 PM.
daveymc29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 11:26 PM   #2
Synchro909

Default Re: Circuit breakers

Dave, I don't bother with a circuit breaker, I just carry a few spare fuses. If I blow one or two, I repair them at a little higher ratring. Been doing it for decades.
Old 03-27-2019, 09:20 AM   #3
eagle