Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-03-2022, 08:14 PM   #1
Stephenorf

Default 1959 Mercury With An Autolite 2100

I am going through this car getting ready to try and get to motor to run. I initially had fuel delivery issue which I narrowed down to the fuel pump. It looks to me as though the carb on the car is an Autolite 2100, but I'm not 100% sure as I am not an expert on carburetors. Would this be the original style carb that this car came with from the factory for a 1959 Mercury with 312 2v?

I have not begun to work on the carb yet, but I see it has a choke that uses heat from the exhaust manifold to operate. Whatever is supposed to connect between the choke and the exhaust manifold is missing. I guess I could convert to electric choke (or manual choke I guess, but I'm not too keen on manual choke). What method was used to get heat from the exhaust manifold the the carb, assuming this is the type of choke setup that come with the car from the factory?

Also, the throttle return spring is suspect. you can't see the end of the spring in the pic but it is hooked to the A/C compressor bracket and looks like it could let go at any minute....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1959 Mercury Monterey Autolite 2100.jpg (78.4 KB, 96 views)
Stephenorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 08:41 PM   #2
dmsfrr

Default Re: 1959 Mercury With An Autolite 2100

That curved bracket on the outside of the choke thermostat is there to hold one of the heater hoses. The circulating coolant heats the choke housing cover directly.
Fairly sure that's not original on a '59. The carburetor is likely from a newer engine application.

What on the exhaust manifold makes you think it should be connected to the choke housing?
Example photo...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg B9AE top, copy.jpg (49.6 KB, 12 views)
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 09:39 PM   #3
KULTULZ