Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-12-2013, 09:46 AM   #1
stouchton

Default Vibration - what is normal?

Hi folks - I did search and read many posts, but this is such an intangible thing I just wanted to ask in a different way.

This is actually real simple - I have a vibration when running above idle. The rear view mirror vibrates so that the image is distorted. The car itself seems smooth - just the windshield and mirror vibrating.

I ask this because I am a Model A Newbie, and the mechanics of the engine are unknown to me. The car runs well, climbs significant hills in 3rd gear at 30 to 35mph, no tapping or knocks from motor. So I think the motor was rebuilt well - just wanted to know if the vibration is normal or if it seems excessive. She does have the stock front engine mount, and Float-a-Motor on the back.

I do understand that the motor is not properly balanced by modern standards and there will be vibration. I want to take real good care of this car - so did not want to continue driving if one of you experts out there think something may be amiss.

And yes - it is an open car, so the windshield is hanging out there unsupported and probably much more prone to vibration.

Thanks for the hand holding
stouchton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:51 AM   #2
Will N

Default Re: Vibration - what is normal?

They all vibrate just like you described. Perfectly normal.
Will N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:52 AM   #3
steve s

I don't know any way to get an answer to your question other than taking an experienced Model A guy for a ride. There must be a club in your area, with lots of members who would be glad to advise.

Steve
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:58 AM   #4
H. L. Chauvin

Hi stouchton,