Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-17-2017, 09:28 AM   #1
Bill Stipe

Default In regards to spuddering at High RPM's

As Bill Williamson mentioned in DJS post the Model A is not a great design for high RPM but they can do pretty good if everything is right with them.

I have to share a funny story if anyone is interested. My Dad always told me not to tear up that Model A and be putting a V-8 in it. I beg my dad for that car the summer I got out of 9th grade.

I was always tinkering with it after I graduated high school so I set out to make it faster, I got some EMT conduit fabricated a home made down draft set up for an old Rochester 6 cylinder carb and dual split headers, found a C head and cut it as much as one dare. cut the flywheel down to about 35 pounds and mounted a Plymouth PP and 3 speed Plymouth trans with a homemade shifter that I could lock out first gear once It was used to speed shift 2nd and 3rd and never hit 1st or reverse!

So every Friday night we cruised 8th street looking for girls.
Well here come a Mustang screaming up along side me hollering out the window if I wanted to race! I thought yeah right 289 V-8 against an old prewar 4 cylinder, so I told him not unless you pull 4 spark plug wires! well that made his hair stand up, so out he jumps and yanks 4 wire in no particular order and away we go.
Well needless to say I pulled away from him for a block or so and we pulled over he was fuming and said well my car wasn't made to run like a 4 cylinder and I came right back at him said well mine was made to run like a V-8,, BOOM!! that was one of the best times I had, plus I got the girl!!
Old 04-17-2017, 11:47 AM   #2
George Miller

Default Re: In regards to spuddering at High RPM's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Stipe View Post