Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2020, 09:25 AM   #1
First time restorer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 21
Default Temperature wire

I need to remove the temperature probe from the head cover so I can remove the headcover. I canít get it loose from the head and I donít want to take the dashboard apart. Can the wire be cut and spliced back together?
Any ideas?

Thanks
First time restorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 09:42 AM   #2
rockfla
Senior Member
 
rockfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Temperature wire

I, for one am very confused as to what you are asking? It would help to answer the following questions.....


1) What year car/flathead are we talking about?


2) Do you mean that you are trying to remove the "temperature sender" unit from the head?


3) Pictures are worth 1000 words!!!!


4) Why would you think that you have to dismantle the dash to remove something from under the hood?


5) pictures are worth 1000 words!!!




6) Don't know what you mean by "Head Cover"?? Do you mean the "Head"???






Regards Rockfla
rockfla is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-14-2020, 09:52 AM   #3
First time restorer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 21
Default Re: Temperature wire

The temperature sender on a 39 flathead ford
First time restorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 09:58 AM   #4
rockfla
Senior Member
 
rockfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Temperature wire

You should have just one sender, or at least my 39 Mercury does. It should have a screw in the center of the sender See attached) that hold the wire to it??? You should be able to just loosen the screw and remove the wire??? NOTE Second picture top left.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 39MercTempUnit2.jpg (23.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 39head2.jpg (80.9 KB, 22 views)
rockfla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 10:04 AM   #5
rockfla
Senior Member
 
rockfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Temperature wire

As for the :"removal", you may be dealing with some electrolysis issues from dissimilar metals, heat and friction. Try using a good penetrating type oil, a few applications over a period of a day or so and letting that soak in. ALSO "sometimes" IF you ever so slightly tighten it before you loosen it, that can also help.
rockfla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 10:10 AM   #6
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,797
Default Re: Temperature wire

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Are you talking about a mechanical gauge with a capillary tube? If so no you can't cut it.

If you are not sure of the correct term for a thing, try and post a picture, we can help if we can understand what you are trying to do.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 11:24 AM   #7
marko39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: harpursville ny
Posts: 507
Default Re: Temperature wire

These can be stubborn to remove. After removing the nut the tube can be stuck in the well. Just carefully work it back and forth trying to wiggle it until you can pull it out. Soak it with penetrating oil first.
marko39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.