Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2020, 01:48 PM   #1
GregJac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Default using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Has anyone had any success with using a stock horn on a 12 volt system? I purchased the "restorer" and have added it as per the instructions, but my horn doesn't operate. When checking the horn input wires voltage, it still shows 12 volts.
The Model A mechanics handbook shows making one from a variable resistor. Has anyone had experience with it?
GregJac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:02 PM   #2
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

I assume you meant you purchased the "resistor". Who did your purchase it from? Did the horn work before? Any pictures? It is such a simple part it should work. The voltage drop doesn't occur until there is current flowing so it should be 12 volts on both sides of the resistor without the current flowing. I assume you are wiring from a 12 source to the horn and then to the horn button as a ground to complete the circuit, is that correct?

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-01-2020, 04:03 PM   #3
briphaeton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 233
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

What I use is a Ohmite RESISTOR, 2 OHM, 100 WATT, ADJ TUBULAR, WIREWOUND, +-10% TOLERANCE.The Galco part number is D100K2ro.
It is a adjustable resister so you get adjust what sound you want from your horn. I found it in a old Restorer article? You have to make a simple bracket that mount on the inside frame rail so it's out of sight. Works great.
briphaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 04:49 PM   #4
GregJac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

I saw the same in the ford mechanics handbook. The resister I have is called the "restorer" and when hooking it to the circuit, my horn just moans once. It does the same when hooked to a 12v power supply. The horn works as it should when using a 6v system. I'm assuming my resistor is not working.
I'm going to try the one you mentioned.
Thanks
GregJac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:02 PM   #5
GregJac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

The resistor I bought was from Mac's and "Restorer" was the name on the instructions supplied. I've seen it available from several different vendors. The horn is good and operates great using a 6v supply. I do have 12v (yellow wire) running to the resistor and the wire coming from the other side of the resistor going to the horn. The remaining wire (blue w/ white) is going through the horn button for ground, Checking it with a voltmeter, the voltage never drops when the horn button is pushed.
I was wondering if anyone had ever used one of there.
GregJac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 07:38 PM   #6
duke36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

I use this as posted by others. Reasonable price.
duke36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 11:29 PM   #7
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregJac View Post
I saw the same in the ford mechanics handbook. The resister I have is called the "restorer" and when hooking it to the circuit, my horn just moans once. It does the same when hooked to a 12v power supply. The horn works as it should when using a 6v system. I'm assuming my resistor is not working.
I'm going to try the one you mentioned.
Thanks
I would guess the 12 volt power supply is not putting out enough amps to blow the horn.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:07 AM   #8
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 747
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Maybe the horn is bad and in need of a cleaning/rebuild.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:33 AM   #9
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 672
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

If it has bullet connectors they can be hard to get to make contact when they're new, even if they look secure. Be sure they're mated all the way. Snyder's graciously sent me another horn relay because I was convinced the one I had ordered was bad. Replacement didn't work either. Turns out bullets weren't pushed in well enough. Cost me return postage. Grr.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:46 AM   #10
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 500
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badpuppy View Post
If it has bullet connectors they can be hard to get to make contact when they're new, even if they look secure. Be sure they're mated all the way. Snyder's graciously sent me another horn relay because I was convinced the one I had ordered was bad. Replacement didn't work either. Turns out bullets weren't pushed in well enough. Cost me return postage. Grr.
I don't see a horn relay listed at Snyder's. Do you have a link? Thanks
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:48 AM   #11
GregJac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Thanks for all of the advise. I believe I may have a bad resistor. The horn operates as it should connected to a 6v battery.
GregJac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:49 AM   #12
Smog Tech
Senior Member
 
Smog Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 141
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

The resistor will only drop the voltage from 12 volts to 6 volts when the learn is working.
Smog Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:53 AM   #13
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,689
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Quote:
the voltage never drops when the horn button is pushed.
It sounds like the problem is the ground circuit from the horn button. Try a jumper direct from a good ground to the horn.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 11:57 AM   #14
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

My preference has been to rewire the two field windings. Easily done. See attached article.

Tom Endy
Attached Files
File Type: pdf converting the ahooguh.pdf (188.8 KB, 58 views)
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 10:00 AM   #15
GregJac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

After two resistors and much frustration I finally just rewound the field coils with 24 ga. wire. 100 wraps and now my horn operates as it should.
GregJac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 11:07 AM   #16
McMimmcs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Posts: 480
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregJac View Post
After two resistors and much frustration I finally just rewound the field coils with 24 ga. wire. 100 wraps and now my horn operates as it should.
You canít go wrong when you follow advice from Tom Endy !
McMimmcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 11:41 AM   #17
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,814
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Have you tried adjusting it ? [ the horn]
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 02:45 PM   #18
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

When Tom speaks you should listen! I have been shocked when Tom has asked for help, we can't be expert at everything.
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 08:51 AM   #19
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 672
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Master Cylinder View Post
I don't see a horn relay listed at Snyder's. Do you have a link? Thanks
Definitely from Snyder's, but I don't find the link either. I'll see if I can find the receipt.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 10:43 AM   #20
fixitphil
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 79
Default Re: using a 12 volt system with the 6 volt horn

Tom,
Is this 24 ga wire a solid "insulated wire"?? not stranded??

I found this on Amazon. Is this correct?
BNTECHGO 24 AWG Magnet Wire - Enameled Copper Wire - Enameled Magnet Winding Wire - 4 oz - 0.0197" Diameter 1 Spool Coil Red Temperature Rating 155℃ Widely Used for Transformers Inductors
__________________
FixitPhil

Last edited by fixitphil; 09-09-2020 at 11:03 AM.
fixitphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.