Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-28-2020, 10:51 PM   #1
Los_Control

Default A few questions on a 8BA

I am a total noob to this motor, last week I bought a 8BA motor & trans from a 1951 F100.

So anyway, I assume all 8BA 239 engines are created equal, and the truck 4spd that came with it. I would like to see if can rebuild it.Just trying to figure out why they were tearing it apart in the first place, so I can continue and correct the issue, before I put it back together with the same issue it started with.

There is a reason this rancher pulled this truck out of service Started to pull it apart and stopped. ... I am just not seeing it ... so am asking for things to look for when I disassemble the engine ... A true pro would rip it apart and save whats left, I am trying to go at it with the attitude to see whats wrong and fix what I have.

If ya all have some good links, information for what to look for while tearing down or just want to say hello, I sure like to say hello to you.
Los_Control is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 11:27 PM   #2
Phil Gillespie

Default Re: A few questions on a 8BA

How about start from the beginning and find the real reason or symptons which made original owner decide it needed some work. Maybe it was hard starting or similar which can be sorted without tearing it down. Do the easy bits first.
Phil NZ
Phil Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2020, 11:48 PM   #3
Aarongriffey

A ‘51 would be an F1. Not that it makes much difference. I
Aarongriffey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 12:02 AM   #4
tubman