Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2013, 11:46 PM   #1
31 A4door
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: washington
Posts: 102
Default Wiring Harness

Well today I put that new harness in that I made this week. All went perfect except that I wired the high and low beams reversed. No biggie I changed it around in the headlight buckets.
Also gave up on that darn ignition switch and put in a temporary switch till a new comes in the mail.

Who can tell me what these things used for " running " Lights ?? Book shows wire going to headlight I think. This car has some sort of non stock headlights.

Also found a light under the dash. I hooked it up and it's working well. No dome light yet but there will be after I tear out the headliner.
31 A4door is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:49 PM   #2
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Wiring Harness

Quote:
Originally Posted by 31 A4door View Post
Well today I put that new harness in that I made this week. All went perfect except that I wired the high and low beams reversed. No biggie I changed it around in the headlight buckets.
Also gave up on that darn ignition switch and put in a temporary switch till a new comes in the mail.

Who can tell me what these things used for " running " Lights ?? Book shows wire going to headlight I think. This car has some sort of non stock headlights.

Also found a light under the dash. I hooked it up and it's working well. No dome light yet but there will be after I tear out the headliner.
Deluxe cars had cowl lights otherwise, there were no runnin, parking, lights on A'a as built.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-01-2013, 08:51 AM   #3
Franchise_24
Senior Member
 
Franchise_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, Ohio
Posts: 769
Default Re: Wiring Harness

Mike what are you talking about? Cars without cowl lights have parking/running lights in the main headlight as a separate bulb. Both my cars do.
__________________
1929 Model A Ford Coupe
Franchise_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:43 AM   #4
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,661
Default Re: Wiring Harness

Do you have cowl lights?? How many bulbs/sockets in each headlight??
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:11 AM   #5
ericr
Senior Member
 
ericr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,367
Default Re: Wiring Harness

this is a dumb question so all due apologies extended, and here goes: I have never clearly understood if people are saying that a car with factory-installed cowl lights lacked parking lights in the headlamps. And are they saying if a dealer installed the cowl lights, he would remove the parking lights in the headlamps?
ericr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:05 PM   #6
Franchise_24
Senior Member
 
Franchise_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, Ohio
Posts: 769
Default Re: Wiring Harness

Eric, good question. I know on my dads 30 deluxe town sedan it has cowl lights and only 1 socket for the lights/brights in the head lamp. My 2 cars don't have cowl lights so they have 2 sockets in the head lamp for lights and parking/running light.
__________________
1929 Model A Ford Coupe
Franchise_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:52 PM   #7
31 A4door
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: washington
Posts: 102
Default Re: Wiring Harness

This car has non stock headlights on it. Only one plug and uses a sealed beam but I think it's on a stock cross bar. There was not a 3rd wire going over to each headlight before I took all that out. I did put a wire in my loom and can hook something up if needed but the book clearly shows a 3rd wire going to each headlight in the book.
31 A4door is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:57 PM   #8
31 A4door
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: washington
Posts: 102
Default Re: Wiring Harness

BTW finished the wiring today and put a new tail light on today too.. Need to clean up the brake switch and put in back in then I am afraid I am done with this car for about a month while I do Model T stuff and tours.
31 A4door is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:52 AM   #9
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: Wiring Harness

I suspected your car had sealed beams from one of your other postings, probably the one on your generator. Sealed beams draw a lot more amps than the stock Model A lights. Also, with sealed beams in the buckets, you can't have parking lights in the buckets. Stock Model A headlamps (after Feb. 1929) have parking lights mounted above the headlamp sockets, unless the car came from the factory with cowl lamps, then the headlamps only had the main headlamp socket.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:31 AM   #10
31 A4door
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: washington
Posts: 102
Default Re: Wiring Harness

Thanks for all the good info. I have the wire ready to hook up at a later date if I end up putting Stock headlamps on it. Until then I will tie it up out of sight.
31 A4door is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 02:26 PM   #11
howard104
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Paramus,N.J.
Posts: 32
Default Re: Wiring Harness

i saw you made your own haness,where did you get the layout????
howard104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 03:23 PM   #12
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 7,014
Default Re: Wiring Harness

He hasn't posted in almost 6 1/2 years so he probably wont reply but
this may help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wiring-diagramcolor2sm.jpg (82.1 KB, 14 views)
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.