Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013, 04:02 PM   #21
spdway1
Senior Member
 
spdway1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhusa View Post
Me too. When I reread #1 - #2 did not make sense, but then I remembered that post #1 originally said something about it was sparking and should he do something about it.

The question as originally stated was rediculous so I figured that it was a spoof and answered with the gasoline comment.
If I had said -of course you need to fix it - it still would not make sense because the question was changed to what should I do
Thanks for your help.
spdway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 04:39 PM   #22
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Well, if I had the helper in your avitar, sparks would be flying in my car too.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-14-2013, 04:48 PM   #23
ctvpa
Senior Member
 
ctvpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 479
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Call Craig.
ctvpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:50 PM   #24
spdway1
Senior Member
 
spdway1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wesenberg View Post
Well, if I had the helper in your avitar, sparks would be flying in my car too.
I do!! Her diaper was filled after the Backfire !!KAPOW!!
spdway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:11 PM   #25
spdway1
Senior Member
 
spdway1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Here is what my starter switch looks like. The is green flaky corrosion under the battery cable stud as you can see and directly under this on the starter. There also seems to be a real close tolerance between the stud and the starter. Thoughts/Suggestions? Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-10-21_16-25-39_136.jpg (50.3 KB, 27 views)
spdway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:25 PM   #26
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

The stud doesn't need much clearance, and from what I see your's looks OK. I would remove the stud and strap and clean them. Also make sure the strap springs back all the way and make sure the insulation board is in good shape. It should spring back enough to keep the push rod from having freeplay.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:40 PM   #27
spdway1
Senior Member
 
spdway1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

I am confused why the starter rod was sparking, should this rod have negative in it or should it be insulated?
spdway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:32 PM   #28
jmeckel
Senior Member
 
jmeckel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Luck WI
Posts: 549
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

If the body of the car to battery is a better return path to the battery under a high current drain scenario like when the starter is running, than the engine to battery path, then if the starter rod touches the body it may spark and try to pull a return path back to the battery that way.
__________________
Jon

"If you choose to not decide, you still have made a choice!" RUSH

Don't tell me what you know..... Tell me what you have done.
jmeckel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:11 PM   #29
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: !! Sparks !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdway1 View Post
When I attempt to start my AA, the foot pedal rod sparks really bad on the hole where it goes threw the firewall.

What do I need to do to correct this?

Thank you
The part that pushes the copper strip on to the "button" of the started normally has an insulator on it. seems like yours is missing.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.