Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-08-2014, 10:43 PM   #1
daveymc29

Default Radius Ball question

I have the rubber ball over the radius ball and find that to cotter pin the nuts, the springs become squashed entirely. So what may I be doing wrong? Was there a special cap that was thinner for the rubber ball? If so I better get out there and do a treasure hunt for it, or throw the rubber out and just use the iron to steel. Which is really best? I apologize if this has been beaten to death recently, as I am fairly new to ford barn. The motor mounts are in without any real hitches, See that post for how I did it, with tips from many here. Thanks
daveymc29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 10:51 PM   #2
700rpm

Default Re: Radius Ball question

There are metal shims that sometimes compensate for a worn ball. Throw away the worthless rubber thing and get those if your ball is bad. But that's only a bandaid fix. You should really either build up the ball or find a good replacement.

As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 11:59 PM   #3
Chuck Sea/Tac

If you have the thin SS cap, then it's for the ball only, if slightly worn, then use a bent washer on top, or buy the special one. If thick cast, then it's designed for the rubber ball around the worn steel ball.
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 07:38 AM   #4
huddy

What they're telling you is that there are two cap arrangements, the original and an aftermarket.

The original is made of thin material and uses the springs with the cotter pins & castle nuts. The receptacle will only accommodate the radius ball with no rubber cover.

The aftermarket is a band-aid for a worn radius ball. It has a larger receptacle and uses the rubber ball over the radius ball, is made of heavy cast material, and does NOT use springs.