Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-16-2013, 10:03 PM   #1
40fordpu

Default Wiring Newbie

Came across my wiring for my 1940 ford pickup in a box...just like the rest of the parts for my truck. I have a wiring diagram I bought but I have heard that wiring components sold by guys like carpenter and drake come with a diagram that says x wire goes with x component...maybe I am a newb but does anyone have those wiring diagrams by those guys. Can you post them??? Thanks
40fordpu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:40 PM   #2
Mike in AZ

Default Re: Wiring Newbie

don't know whether his will help, but here's a wiring diagram for a '40 car....from MacVP's website.. maybe the wire colors match??....Mike

http://www.vanpeltsales.com/FH_web/F...ing1940std.jpg
Mike in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:51 PM   #3
40fordpu

Thanks Mike. I have that diagram and am struggling with it. I consider myself a smart guy too..
Old 04-16-2013, 11:51 PM   #4
TonyM

When I bought all of my wiring harness from Narangansette they sent me several great drawings they made themselves. They are big fold out and I have no way to scan them. Mine are for 1937. Hope you get it figured.
TonyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:13 AM   #5
Terry,OH

There are several issues when replacing a cars wiring harness. Such as: how does the harness get from point to point or routing, the color of the wires on the different terminals. It does help to have the diagram supplied by the harness Mfg. if you don't have them ask the Mfg for them. if they don't have any don't buy from them again but all is not lost. Do you have basic electrical skills and can use a Ohmmeter? If you don't have the talent I would suggest you get help from someone that does.