Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-01-2018, 09:23 AM   #1
Darrell S

Default Need Rewiring Help

I am starting to rewire the 48. Must say I am intimidated as I have never done this before. I have all new wire from Sacramento Vintage Ford.

What is the best way to rewire under the dash? I have removed the front seat for better access. Even getting to the places to disconnect the old wire is problematic letting alone installing new. I would like to hear how others have accomplished this job. Dashboard removal?

Helpful comments much appreciated.
Darrell S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 10:08 AM   #2
Kurt in NJ

Default Re: Need Rewiring Help

I stacked up pizzaboxes, put a boat cushion on top with the seat in when I had to fix wiring under the dash of a packard----but they were high class pizza boxes, not dominos
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 10:51 AM   #3
19Fordy

DISCONNECT YOUR BATTERY and then.....

First. Take plenty of BEFORE photos, including close ups, of the original wiring as it is now in the car.
Second, Attach labels to each wire end telling what it originally attached to under the dash.
Third. Don't cut of any wires. You want to leave the OEM harness intact.
Fourth. Gently remove the harness in one piece, if possible. If you have to pull the wire connectors apart label them first.
Fifth. Lay a nice thick blanket or padding on the floor with a pillow for your head. More space if you can remove the steering wheel.
Sixth. Lay the old harness on the garage floor along with the new one and see if it matches.
Seventh. Install the wiring through the firewall first and then wire the dash. Don't forget the dome light wiring.

Of course you want plenty of light to see what you're doing and keep your mouth closed so you don't end up choking on some nut or bolt that falls on you when under the dash.