Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-18-2021, 06:09 PM   #1
BVZ24

Default Losing Power at High Speeds

Hello,
I am new driving Model A's. I have been learning how to maintain and drive the car for 2 years, with the mentorship of a friend that has has a model A for longer. The car is 1930 Fordor that had been sitting for 7 yrs with bad gas and existing motor issues, and last year we were able to get it running and driving, but not reliably. We still had run and idle issues. Early this spring, I swapped the carburetor with a rebuilt carb and that seemed to solve all the run issues. The car runs, idles and drives nicely around town. I joined a local model A club and I did my first tour with the group this weekend. The car is a pleasure to drive at lower speeds, but once we hit the countryside roads and higher speeds, I wasn't able to keep up.
With the fuel-air at the recommended 1/2-1 turn from full right, and timing almost all the way down, I would have sufficient power as long as I stayed under 45 indicated mph. I believe my speedometer is as much as 5 mph fast. As soon as I would try to accelerate past 45, the engine would slow down and I would immediately start slowing down as if I was engine braking. I can let off the gas and the engine would speed back up to 45. To keep up with the group, I found I could compensate by turning the fuel-air as many as 3 turns left, and accelerate to indicated 55, but no faster. I was still finding myself slower than the group which seemed to be cruising at the posted real speed of 55.