Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-08-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
Gary in Mozarks

Default question for fabricators patch panel

I am working on the body of my 38/39 panel. The left rear quarter is a mess. I intend to cut it out so I can work it from the backside on an anvil and sandbag. then weld it back in place. I have to cut the last quarter of the wheelwell, up to the double bead, then across to almost the back door and down to the bottom.

My question is: Is is better to try to splice right at the very edge of the double bead or is is better to splice it back, on a flat? Say a 1/2 inch above or below the beads.
Thanks Gary
Gary in Mozarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:29 PM   #2
jdl

Send a message via ICQ to jdl
Default Re: question for fabricators patch panel

I'm no expert but I would cut 1"-2" away from the bead on the flat to mantain the bead contour. make clean cuts with jig saw. others will chime in. you also might be able to replace it with new sheetmetal formed by hand?

Last edited by jdl; 07-08-2010 at 01:34 PM.
jdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:32 PM   #3
Frank The Plumber

Hi Gary, you want to stay away from that bead, it likes to warp, did you find a patch panel for that? I had to make a buck for that and put small tubs in the whee lwells, got any pics of what you have to work with?
Frank The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:41 PM   #4
roadster36
BANNED

Frank is correct in my opinion, repairing the bead area will be more difficult. I usually try and duplicate the panel I need to make BEFORE I cut out the old one if possible. Your panel probably has a very slight contour to it that would be good to duplicate. You might look for a donor panel from a door skin or a roof section from a newer car if you don't have access to an english wheel or power hammer. Go slow, measure twice,have fun. - Dennis