Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-21-2010, 07:48 PM   #1
Broman

Default Ford blue prints

I am a drafter by trade and I love looking at old blue prints. I have seen beautiful original blue prints from the power and water utility that I work at and it is always neat to see when most of the prints are done on computers now.

I have seen a few blue prints here and there of old Ford chassis and even a few bodies. I was wondering if any of you old Ford Barn guys have ever seen or know where a fella could get something like that.

Seems like they are out there somewhere and I think it would be great to have a copy. It would be absolutly thrilling to lay eyes on engine blue prints, that would be the bee's knees.

I have searched around a few different times for this and usually come up dry.

~Broman
Old 05-21-2010, 09:08 PM   #2
PeteVS

Default Re: Ford blue prints

I'm pretty sure that Ford maintains an extensive archive system at Dearborn and there have been posts on the old FordBarn that someone was going out to find certain information. It's also my understanding that they're very tight about making unauthorized (unpaid for) copies of anything and it's also possible that there's a lot of theft of drawings, etc. I could be wrong on any part of this.
PS: I'm a retired drafter / designer- started out pencil on vellum, ended up doing 3D modeling in ProEngineer. I appreciate the old work too.
Old 05-21-2010, 09:16 PM   #3
Lawson Cox

Yes. Ford archives has blue prints on most any part you need to look at.
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 08:57 AM   #4
jerry grayson

I n reality, the Ford engineering drawings are at the Benson Ford Research Center in Dearborn MI. They are located next to the Henry Ford Museum and Ford Motor Co. Has no connection to them now. You can look at them free,but copies have a price.
jerry grayson is offline   Reply With Quote