Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2015, 12:45 PM   #21
RonC
Senior Member
 
RonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,866
Default Re: electrical fuse problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Blockhead View Post
Is a 25 amp fuse large enough? Most of the Vendors provide a 30 amp fuse with the holder. I use a 30 amp ciruit breaker with no problem.

From Snyder's;
"A-11450-SF Safety Fuse Installation Instructions

Disconnect Battery! Bolt your safety fuse onto the engine side of the starter switch using the same screws that attach the switch. (Note: if the screws are too long and penetrate the starter body by more than 1/4 a short will result)

Remove the wire coming from the terminal box at the starter switch and attach it to the empty screw on the safety fuse.

Attach the yellow wire from the safety fuse to the bolt on the starter switch along with the battery cable. Replacement 30 amp fuses can be purchased at any auto supply store."
I use a 30amp but I have also used a 20amp with no problem
RonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 01:04 PM   #22
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,621
Default Re: electrical fuse problem

I use one of these, takes the spade type (AGC) fuses. While it's not water-proof, it is resistant.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fuse Box.jpg (23.6 KB, 23 views)
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-14-2015, 01:11 PM   #23
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,680
Default Re: electrical fuse problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonC View Post
I use a 30amp but I have also used a 20amp with no problem

If you are running an alternator that is capable of putting out 30 amps it should be considered that if the battery is extremely low after start up, the alternator may be sending 30 amps to the battery, which will have to travel through the fuse.

Tom Endy
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 02:30 PM   #24
RobertB
Senior Member
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Teresa, NM
Posts: 133
Default Re: electrical fuse problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Blockhead View Post
You may need to get some of this...

When I was into Spridgets (MG Midget/Austin Healey Sprite), the model A of sports cars, one of our best restorers always added a "smoke test" guage to his dash. He converted an old guage, added a "test" button, and mounted a hair dryer heater smeared with grease inside the guage.

A push of the button caused smoke to pour out of the guage. All Brit car guys know the wire if full of smoke, and and your smoke leaks out all at once, the car is toast...(pun intended).

Wonder if there would be a market for "original" Ford Model A smoke test guages?

__________________
RobertB
Santa Teresa, NM
RobertB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.