Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2020, 03:32 PM   #1
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default 29 Tudor crank pulley question

I was reinstalling the generator that I just rebuilt and I noticed that the two piece crank pulley had some play between the pulley piece and the separate rear piece.

It is not a lot of play but I'm thinking that there should not be ANY play at all. The pulley bolt is tight so I am wondering why there is play??

Also--can I tighten that bolt with a socket and extension through the crank hole in the radiator shell--what size socket???



Any thoughts?
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 04:02 PM   #2
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 7,057
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

It is possible the nut is bottomed out on the crank snout, you may
need to add a washer. The ID of the washer need to be a little bigger than the OD of the snout.
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-27-2020, 04:18 PM   #3
kenparker
Senior Member
 
kenparker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Van, Texas
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

There should be NO rotational movement between the two pieces of the two piece crank pulley. It will get worser and mo worser.
kenparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 06:48 PM   #4
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,241
Wink Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenparker View Post
There should be NO rotational movement between the two pieces of the two piece crank pulley. It will get worser and mo worser.
It won't get any worser once it fails and I fear failure is not far away if it the thread that holds the pulley to the hub is loose or damaged.
__________________
It is no burden to carry a little extra knowledge.

Last edited by Synchro909; 06-27-2020 at 09:48 PM.
Synchro909 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:17 PM   #5
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

The nut can be tighten or loosened with a socket and extension, put the socket over the nut and then an extension through the hole where the hand crank goes. Socket size is 1 1/16 I think maybe 1 1/8 ? I changed my pulley a year ago memory has faded
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 08:47 AM   #6
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big hammer View Post
The nut can be tighten or loosened with a socket and extension, put the socket over the nut and then an extension through the hole where the hand crank goes. Socket size is 1 1/16 I think maybe 1 1/8 ? I changed my pulley a year ago memory has faded
************************************************** ***
Thanks for your reply.

I guess the repro devil strikes again! (repro parts almost fit!!)

The socket size is 1-3/8" --I found it in Snyder's catalog. See photo.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6811.jpg (68.1 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 08:50 AM   #7
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob C View Post
It is possible the nut is bottomed out on the crank snout, you may
need to add a washer. The ID of the washer need to be a little bigger than the OD of the snout.
*******************************************

Thanks for your reply.

I was thinking the same thing (a washer) but I figured that I better ask before I actually do it.

BTW I do have the special wrench for that bolt.
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:07 AM   #8
dansluck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 107
Send a message via AIM to dansluck Send a message via Yahoo to dansluck
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Fred93, I would check the lugs on the pulley and collar for damage caused by the movement. I 'm speaking from experience and I went back to a one piece pulley. A little more work but peace of mind. Good Luck, I miss my 28 tudor currently drive a 31 coupe.
Dan
dansluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:03 AM   #9
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,750
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by fred93 View Post
************************************************** ***
Thanks for your reply.

I guess the repro devil strikes again! (repro parts almost fit!!)

The socket size is 1-3/8" --I found it in Snyder's catalog. See photo.
They're not all 1-3/8", the one on my '31 CCPU is 1-1/4" and I've heard of 1-5/16" ones.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:05 AM   #10
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by dansluck View Post
Fred93, I would check the lugs on the pulley and collar for damage caused by the movement. I 'm speaking from experience and I went back to a one piece pulley. A little more work but peace of mind. Good Luck, I miss my 28 tudor currently drive a 31 coupe.
Dan
****************************************

Thanks for the reply.

Fortunately there is only about three hours of run time on the engine and pulley assembly. The car has not been driven at all at this point so I don't think that I will have any problems like you mentioned.

Good thought though for the future.
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 12:44 PM   #11
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

I removed the crank pulley bolt and looked at the situation. The actual crankshaft only sticks out a small amount beyond the pulley.

A washer would be difficult to place in that area and keep it from getting stuck between the bolt and the crankshaft. It looks like I would need to have someone braze material to the front of the pulley and then machine it down to match the crankshaft. Or have someone make a washer and tack weld it to the pulley so it will stay in place while tightening the bolt.

Anyone have any other ideas???
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 09:08 AM   #12
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,750
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Anyone have any other ideas???
How about a small washer to fit behind the pulley?
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 03:23 PM   #13
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by katy View Post
How about a small washer to fit behind the pulley?
************************************************** ******

Thanks for the reply.

That was a thought that passed through my brain. But what I ended up doing was to make a washer (brass sheet .016" thick) that had the ID a tad larger than the crankshaft and a OD the size of the pulley machined area. See photos.

Then I super glued the washer to the crankshaft pulley just so it would stay in place while I tightened the crankshaft bolt. It worked great! No more play!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6815.jpg (72.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6817.jpg (36.1 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6816.jpg (79.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6819.jpg (62.4 KB, 16 views)
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 09:43 PM   #14
fred93
Senior Member
 
fred93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SPRUCE PINE NC
Posts: 435
Default Re: 29 Tudor crank pulley question

Quote:
Originally Posted by katy View Post
They're not all 1-3/8", the one on my '31 CCPU is 1-1/4" and I've heard of 1-5/16" ones.
********************************************

Thanks--that is normal for Henry! LOL
__________________
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over!!!
fred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.