Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2020, 07:29 PM   #1
aandkt
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LI NY
Posts: 94
Default Emergency BrakeCable

I have a 1936 Ford. If you put hydraulic brakes in your Ford, and ran the emergency brake cable across the driveshaft, how did you route it?? Over--Under?? Where??
Thanks
aandkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:03 PM   #2
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,146
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandkt View Post
I have a 1936 Ford. If you put hydraulic brakes in your Ford, and ran the emergency brake cable across the driveshaft, how did you route it?? Over--Under?? Where??
Thanks

Cables route UNDER the torque tube. DD


__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


There are TWO types of people in this world.
___________________________________
1) Those who CAN extrapolate from incomplete data....


V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-27-2020, 11:44 PM   #3
Bursonaw
Senior Member
 
Bursonaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 275
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Mine originally us under the torque tube. I did not like the way it worked on my car, because of the location of the
E-brake handle, the cable did not pull square and the passenger side brakes would work correctly but the driver side would not engage fully.

I used the original mechanical brake actuator.

I drilled a 1 hole in the frame with a step drill and used a brake rod from a Model A cut and bent to length.


Works like Henry Ford designed it himself. Now I can lock up the rear wheels with the E-brake.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bursonaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 01:10 PM   #4
aandkt
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LI NY
Posts: 94
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Thanks for your prompt and very descriptive reply. I neglected to mention a very important fact-- I have an open Ford Bronco drive shaft.
I need to cross the driveshaft with the drivers side cable to meet with the junction under the right side seat floor.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
aandkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 11:47 AM   #5
Als48
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 17
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

On my '48 with open drive shaft, I routed the cable above the drive shaft. I had a little trouble keeping the shaft from hitting it at the clevis piece where the rear cables attach.

Al Hook
Als48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:21 PM   #6
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bursonaw View Post
Mine originally us under the torque tube. I did not like the way it worked on my car, because of the location of the
E-brake handle, the cable did not pull square and the passenger side brakes would work correctly but the driver side would not engage fully.

I used the original mechanical brake actuator.

I drilled a 1 hole in the frame with a step drill and used a brake rod from a Model A cut and bent to length.


Works like Henry Ford designed it himself. Now I can lock up the rear wheels with the E-brake.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I like this idea.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:23 PM   #7
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8COOPMAN View Post
Cables route UNDER the torque tube. DD


Coopman,

Would you mind taking a few close ups of the E brake routing from your pict. In a few days, I'll be doing the e brake on my roadster and I'm looking for some options. I'm not picturing how the rod slide to pull the cable in your set up.

Thanks,

Tim
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 09:13 PM   #8
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,146
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Ayers View Post
Coopman,

Would you mind taking a few close ups of the E brake routing from your pict. In a few days, I'll be doing the e brake on my roadster and I'm looking for some options. I'm not picturing how the rod slide to pull the cable in your set up.

Thanks,

Tim

Hey Tim....That's just a quick picture I stole off of Al Gore's internet. My '40 coupe isn't stock in that E-brake cable area. I know that Jim Pullen (19Fordy) will have about 500 pictures of what you need. Jim documents (very well) EVERYTHING! Kubarth (Kube) might even have a pic or two. Hope this helps ya!! DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


There are TWO types of people in this world.
___________________________________
1) Those who CAN extrapolate from incomplete data....


V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 12:07 PM   #9
Gary in La.
Senior Member
 
Gary in La.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 840
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

What you see here is where they torched off the cable assy that runs from the hand brake lever to the bracket on the torque tube for the radius rods. The clevis end is still attached to the cable from the rear brakes.
Gary in La. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 02:00 PM   #10
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary in La. View Post
What you see here is where they torched off the cable assy that runs from the hand brake lever to the bracket on the torque tube for the radius rods. The clevis end is still attached to the cable from the rear brakes.
Thanks, Gary. I guess I'm trying figure out what is that piece that the rod goes through in the bracket?
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 03:08 PM   #11
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,146
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Ayers View Post
Thanks, Gary. I guess I'm trying figure out what is that piece that the rod goes through in the bracket?

Tim.....PM 19Fordy! I know he's got a bunch of pictures of that area on his '40. I just can't find 'em on here.....yet! Jim (19Fordy) will graciously accommodate you. DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


There are TWO types of people in this world.
___________________________________
1) Those who CAN extrapolate from incomplete data....


V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 03:29 PM   #12
Gary in La.
Senior Member
 
Gary in La.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 840
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Tim, that piece is what's left of the end of the cable housing. The housing end goes through the bracket and is held in place with one of those clips as used in various places on the brake system like where the hoses go through their brackets. You are seeing the inner cable end which is a rod for the clevis.
Gary in La. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 03:31 PM   #13
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 4,282
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

If your doing a 37/38 conversion use the existing cables and hand brake ,
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com
FlatheadTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 10:00 PM   #14
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary in La. View Post
What you see here is where they torched off the cable assy that runs from the hand brake lever to the bracket on the torque tube for the radius rods. The clevis end is still attached to the cable from the rear brakes.
Ah, got it. Thank you. Since mine car is a hot rod, the stock set up may not work. Thinking of making a pull rod for some mechanical brake rod.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 02:10 AM   #15
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 5,711
Default Re: Emergency BrakeCable

Hey all the young kids don't need one. aandkt under the torque. You need at least a 39 e bracket. The ebrake is pretty universal for many years. Depends on where you have a ebrake pull. Pre 38ish was a cable system off bash. Before that was a rod system off the center mechanical brakes and a pull lever of the trans, which you have being a 36. Still works for the ebrake linkage if you didn't remove the xcross member linkage. To sorta answer the original ask. sorta...


Lot of great answers though........

Last edited by Tinker; 07-01-2020 at 02:26 AM.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.