Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Closed Thread

Old 06-23-2013, 10:03 PM   #1
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Default Logan

I have extensive experience with motors and those bearings, while not horrible, are not good for only 1500 miles. I have a '47 Stude M5 with 64K miles that I pulled the caps on to do a bearing check and they looked brand new.
Miles can vouch for that.
The pistons and cyl walls are trashed. Period. No matter what anyone thinks about the bearings.
Old 06-23-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg

Default Re: Logan

I don't know why the other engine update thread was closed, but I was wondering if there is a better picture of the crankshaft and weights, as I thought the weight by the flywheel looked a bit odd?

I can think of at least 4 reasons for the pistons to be scored, but would like to know which one fits this engine.
Old 06-23-2013, 10:47 PM   #3
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Tom, why not share your experience of those 4 reasons with all of us; any one of us might learn something
Old 06-23-2013, 10:49 PM   #4
Joe K

The original participants on this thread (including me) have been having a little side discussion via p.m. since the closure.

We're not really sure and not to reveal incorrectly but we thought that it might have been due to er, "legal" ramifications that might occur between the two parties.

Libel and Defamation can occur - and it can affect one's business standing - and it might be cause enough on a public forum to cause one or the other party to see legal redress.

This our thought for the closing. Not sure who that was.

Anyway, it was an INTERESTING failure. Most profound.

Joe K
Old 06-23-2013, 10:57 PM   #5
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Legal mumbo-jumbo cannot override what those pix reveal. They speak for themselves. The legal phrase here is Res ipsa loquitur

no further words are needed. He can publish the pics in the NY Times if he wants.