Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-14-2020, 02:14 PM   #1
decling

Default Sheet metal prep

I have little experience in sheet metal prep. What is the best technique sand blasting, soda blasting or crushed glass blasting. My truck is an Arizona truck so not much more than surface rust. There are some areas that have been patched poorly and then puttied over or cracks that have been brazed. Do you work out the dents first then blast? I have read that you have to neutralize after soda blasting and prime after sand blasting. I don't want to do something that causes issues later when painting.

I want to do as much of the sheet metal work as possible before turning over to someone to paint.

TIA
decling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 02:19 PM   #2
19Fordy

Default Re: Sheet metal prep

Can you post a few photos of what you are dealing with?

Here's some good options:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALpAnx-t1so

Also, read all threads dealing with surface rust and rust conversion here:
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/searc...rchid=19642473

Last edited by 19Fordy; 12-14-2020 at 02:28 PM.
19Fordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 02:28 PM   #3
Zeke3

I used a heat gun to soften and remove old putty and fiberglass from old repairs. If you have cracks that have been brazed and need to be repaired, you may have to cut them out and weld in a patch. I don't think you can weld metal successfully that has been brazed. Pictures will be helpful.
Zeke3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 03:01 PM   #4
decling