Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2020, 02:25 PM   #1
flathead34
Senior Member
 
flathead34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oro Valley, AZ
Posts: 351
Default Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

Has anyone installed a Drake gas tank into their '35? Before we bought one we were concerned about how well fit and if you had any real problems installing the tank. Did you use a sealer inside the tank? Drake says that you do not need to. I know we have to use his adapter to install a stock fuel sender unit. Did the use of the adapter cause the fuel sender to be raised higher so it hit the the body so you could use the gas sender metal plate? Thanks for any help. Happy V8ing Mike
flathead34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 02:29 PM   #2
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,200
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I installed his 35 pickup gas tank with the bed off of the truck. Fits pretty well, however, if it is filled up it slowly leaks at the seam, leaving a spot of gas on the garage floor and stinks up the place. I, therefore do not ifll the tank above 1/2 full. My 2
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-19-2020, 09:44 AM   #3
flathead34
Senior Member
 
flathead34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oro Valley, AZ
Posts: 351
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

Thanks Lawson, That is good information. Mike
flathead34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 10:05 AM   #4
STAN WHITE
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Gardnerville, Nevada
Posts: 67
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I bought a 34 gas tank from Drakes. I had problems installing it due to the fact that I am using S&W gauges. The Gauges are not the problem the problem I had was with the fuel line location lower front of tank. Using 1/4" line with ferrel it is necessary to bend a tight 90 degree in line to go up & over cross member. Very close to touching cross member Still trying to figure it out. PS After reading the above comments I sure hope it dosen't LEAK. Stan
STAN WHITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 10:30 AM   #5
Vics Stuff
Senior Member
 
Vics Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 308
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

It appears that their tanks are a issue with leaking , therefore I would shy away from their tanks.
Vic
Vics Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 10:36 AM   #6
Tom-MI
Member
 
Tom-MI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 46
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Stan-

I can't speak for others but on my '35 I had to grind 1/8" off the right rear frame channel to get the tank into the car. It is a VERY tight fit.

Tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1065.JPG (49.9 KB, 57 views)
Tom-MI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 10:48 AM   #7
Ken Arms
Senior Member
 
Ken Arms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Essex Vermont
Posts: 549
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I have one in my 34 tudor, fit perfectly, im using stock fuel pickup with drake adapter. no leaks, no issues. Ken
Ken Arms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 12:12 PM   #8
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I got mine from Tanks, Inc. Been in 6 years with no problems. I just installed one of their in-tank fuel pump set-ups for my blower motor and it works great!!
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 01:24 PM   #9
deuce lover
Senior Member
 
deuce lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern France
Posts: 3,373
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

Had a '35 slantback tudor and replaced the orig rusted one with a Drake tank.Had a 36 5W and replaced that tank with a Drake tank.No issues installing with either car .The only thing is the need for a spanner wrench to undo the fill tube collar.I didn't have one so used a older style pipe wrench.Probably not the best way but it worked. Make sure you get a new lead seal from Drake also.
deuce lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 02:35 PM   #10
hotrodart
Senior Member
 
hotrodart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shenandoah Valley Virginia
Posts: 143
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I put a stainless Drake tank in my '40 coupe 3 years ago.....pretty much the same frame as your '35. It went in very quickly/easily without needing to raise the body. No issues at all with fit or quality. I highly recommend Drake tanks.
hotrodart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 05:11 PM   #11
35fordtn
Senior Member
 
35fordtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McMinnville, TN
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

I have used/installed 14 Drake tanks to date. I have only has a issue with one. It was a 36 tank and the threads were damaged where the fuel line threads in. Aside from that one I have never had a issue or experienced any leakage. Rumor has it only the older drake tanks had the seepage issue.

We stock and sell drake tanks and have yet had issues either aside from the typical complaint of the tight fit, which they are
35fordtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 05:33 PM   #12
Karl
Senior Member
 
Karl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manawatu, New Zealand
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Drake's Gas Tank In A "35

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Arms View Post
I have one in my 34 tudor, fit perfectly, im using stock fuel pickup with drake adapter. no leaks, no issues. Ken
I have one in my car No leaks at all -However I am using the hydrostatic gas gauge with the adapter. I believe that the adapter lifts the gauge and makes it less accurate in that when fill it only reads 3/4 fill -Karl
__________________
Such a fine sight to see-Its a Girl, My Lord, in a Flatbed Ford slowin' down to take a look at me.
Karl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.