Go Back   The Ford Barn > To The Editors > Questions & Suggestions

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2023, 10:57 PM   #1
woodiemike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default Need speedometer help

Not sure where to post this question so I'll start here. Hopefully someone can help me out. So here's the deal; I have a 31' Roadster that I have converted to a AV8. Trying to use the stock speedometer. I have a stock 40' rear end with torque tube. With cable hooked up it does not work. I took off the cable and put a drill motor on it and it works. I jacked up the rear end, put it in gear and you can see the cable shaft turning in the turtle. Put it back together and still nothing What am I missing???? Any help, guidance would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Mike
woodiemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2023, 08:48 PM   #2
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Need speedometer help

Are you sure the inner cable is long enough ?
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-22-2023, 02:11 PM   #3
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 6,334
Default Re: Need speedometer help

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2748 View Post
Are you sure the inner cable is long enough ?
Thinking the same thing or gear is missing from the driveshaft or something is stripped down there.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 02:35 PM   #4
woodiemike
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Need speedometer help

First off thank you for the replies. I have figured out the problem. I had to pull out my transmission for a noise problem. With the trans out I have plenty of access to the torque tube. The snape ring that holds the speedometer gear had come out of the groove in the drive shaft. This allowed the gear to move back and forth on the driveline thus not always engaging the turtle gear for the speedometer. Have ordered a new snap ring and will install while I have the transmission out. Again thank you for the replies.
woodiemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 06:50 PM   #5
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 6,334
Default Re: Need speedometer help

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Great!
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.